May 15, 2013

Women's hockey recognizes five players at team banquet


Gove received the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Laura Hurd Award, which recognizes the top women’s hockey player in Division III each season, while also earned AHCA First Team All-American honors.

Gove was named ECAC West Player of the Year for the second straight season and wraps up her career with 139 points, which is tied for fourth all-time in program history.

In addition to the announcement of the annual awards, the Cardinals named Jordan Caldwell and Chelsea VanGlahn the captains for the 2013-14 season, while Allison Era and Mia Favretto will serve as assistant captains.

Caldwell, who was also a captain in 2012-13, will return to complete her final year of eligibility after suffering an injury just six games into this past season.

Caldwell has appeared in 91 games and scored 51 points during her collegiate career.

A key member of the Cardinals’ penalty kill, VanGlahn will be returning to the Cardinals for her final season after compiling 22 points as a junior. Earlier this spring, VanGlahn was also one of two Plattsburgh State athletes to be honored as a Chancellor Scholar-Athlete by the State University of New York (SUNY).

Era becomes an assistant captain after a junior campaign that earned AHCA First Team All-American accolades. Era, who played as both a forward and defenseman, tallied 13 goals and 16 assists to finish fourth in team scoring with 29 points.

Always a threat from the point, Era also notched six power-play goals. Era is joined by Favretto to round out next season’s leadership group.

Favretto has appeared in 58 games for the Cardinals and will be returning for her third season.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports