May 15, 2013

Women's hockey recognizes five players at team banquet


---- — PLATTSBURGH — Plattsburgh State women’s hockey head coach Kevin Houle and assistant coach Nicole Williams announced the recipients of the 2012-13 team awards at the team’s end-of-the-year banquet held at the Valcour Boathouse over the weekend.

The Cardinals also announced the team captains for the 2013-14 season.

Sophomore Morgan MacInnis was the recipient of the Scholar-Athlete Award after receiving Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) West All-Academic honors earlier this year.

A biochemistry major from Cornwall, Ont., MacInnis appeared in all 30 games for the Cardinals and tallied six goals and 10 assists for 16 points.

The Unsung Hero Award was given to sophomore defender Mia Favretto.

Favretto appeared in all 30 games and helped guide a young defense that allowed just 33 goals all year. The Oakville, Ont., native also contributed seven points, which included her first collegiate goal in a 4-2 win over Norwich Jan. 6.

Bridget Balisy was named the team’s Rookie of the Year after a seamless transition in her first year on the blueline.

Balisy, who hails from Brampton, Ont., appeared in all 30 games and joined a Plattsburgh defense that held its opponents to a minuscule 1.10 goals per game. Balisy also recorded three goals and eight assists for 11 points.

Another rookie defender was selected as the team’s Most Improved Player as Sara Lanni earned this year’s honor.

A freshman out of Maple, Ont., Lanni appeared in 28 games and notched two assists on the season.

After receiving every major honor possible this season, Teal Gove was chosen as the team’s Most Valuable Player.

Coming from Berwick, Ont., Gove saved her best year for her last, scoring a career-high 29 goals and 21 assists for 50 points.

She was the top offensive player in the nation, averaging 1.67 points per game and she finished the season tied with a Division-III best nine power play goals.

Gove received the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Laura Hurd Award, which recognizes the top women’s hockey player in Division III each season, while also earned AHCA First Team All-American honors.

Gove was named ECAC West Player of the Year for the second straight season and wraps up her career with 139 points, which is tied for fourth all-time in program history.

In addition to the announcement of the annual awards, the Cardinals named Jordan Caldwell and Chelsea VanGlahn the captains for the 2013-14 season, while Allison Era and Mia Favretto will serve as assistant captains.

Caldwell, who was also a captain in 2012-13, will return to complete her final year of eligibility after suffering an injury just six games into this past season.

Caldwell has appeared in 91 games and scored 51 points during her collegiate career.

A key member of the Cardinals’ penalty kill, VanGlahn will be returning to the Cardinals for her final season after compiling 22 points as a junior. Earlier this spring, VanGlahn was also one of two Plattsburgh State athletes to be honored as a Chancellor Scholar-Athlete by the State University of New York (SUNY).

Era becomes an assistant captain after a junior campaign that earned AHCA First Team All-American accolades. Era, who played as both a forward and defenseman, tallied 13 goals and 16 assists to finish fourth in team scoring with 29 points.

Always a threat from the point, Era also notched six power-play goals. Era is joined by Favretto to round out next season’s leadership group.

Favretto has appeared in 58 games for the Cardinals and will be returning for her third season.