October 8, 2012

Flashback: Oct. 8, 2012


---- —

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

Danielle Wheeler scores 2 second-half goals to lead Chateaugay past St. Lawrence Central.

Kyle Jones, Matt Medeiros, Derek Fessette and Jason Nero all finish in the top 6 to lead Saranac to a 24-31 win over Peru in a CVAC battle of cross-country unbeatens.

Jim Knight, Gary Manning, David Peryer and Scott Baker belt 2 homers apiece as Baker’s/Post 1619 wraps up the A Division title with a 29-16 victory over I.C.E. in the Adirondack Slo-Pitch Softball League playoffs.

Taylor Sullivan’s second goal of the game, with 6 seconds left in regulation, gives unbeaten PHS a 2-1 win over AuSable Valley in girls’ soccer.

Brittany Jarvis and Sabrina Johnson score one goal each as Northeastern Clinton rallies to edge NAC 2-1 and remain unbeaten.

The newly formed line of Derrick Crowningshield, Morris King and Derrick Pierce account for all of the scoring in Willsboro’s 6-0 win over Westport.

Kaylen Fessette posts a 35.6 all-around score to lead Beekmantown in a 161.1 to 161.1 tie with Peru in CVAC gymnastics. Ashley Lamoy and Gina Facteau pace Peru with 33.95 and 33.5 scores.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

Chris Gondek scores twice and Chris Garrand and Brad Bouchard once each as Chazy topples previously unbeaten Wllsboro 5-2.

Anthony Seiferheld and Richard Moore score goals and Matt LaClair comes up with 11 saves as NAC tops NCCS 2-0 in a showdown of CVAC unbeatens.

Marcy Martin, Shanna Brown, Beth McCormick and Kelly Oshier score for Chateaugay in a 4-0 soccer win over St. Regis Falls.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

Kyle Rock captures the Pro Stock 100-lap feature and Tim Patinka finishes third at Albany-Saratoga Speedway.

Chris Blanchard’s 8-yard TD toss to Tom Essex lifts Saranac Lake to a 6-0 overtime victory over Beekmantown.

Scott Keith runs for 214 yards and 3 touchdowns in Malone’s 27-8 victory over Ogdensburg.

Lorrie Strack scores late in the second half to lift unbeaten Saranac to a 3-2 win over AuSable Valley. Sonya Islas and Jodie Cane also score for the Chiefs while Kara Kitchen and Margot Santor tally for the Patriots.

Eric Wells scores 1:34 into the game and Scott Buysse makes 13 saves in Keene’s 1-0 win over Crown Point.

Bob Dedrick returns a punt 70 yards for a score late in the first half to spur Ticonderoga on to a 27-12 win over Moriah. David Boucher runs for 101 yards for the Vikings; however, quarterback Ed Cook is sacked 5 times.

Angela Towle’s goal with less than 4 minutes to play lifts Beekmantown over previously unbeaten Saranac 2-1.

30 YEARS AGO (1982)

Peter teRiele runs 43 yards with a blocked punt to score and Kevin Magoon rushes for 123 yards and a touchdown in Ticonderoga’s 14-13 win over AuSable Valley. Steve Cook scores both TDs for the Patriots.

Shaun Dillon scores 5 goals to lead Saranac Lake past Tupper Lake 6-1 in boys’ soccer.

Northeastern Clinton’s Andy Guay and Beekmantown’s Susie Klein turn in record-setting performances in cross country on the same day.

Paul Lemza runs for 2 scores and passes for 2 more in Moriah’s 24-14 victory over St. John’s.

Jay Dumas and Darryl McDonough each score twice to lead Keene to a 8-1 triumph over Chazy.

Lisa Yuska of St. John’s scores 213.75 points for 11 dives to break her CVAC record for the one-meter dive in a victory over PHS. Kristen Ryan and Ellen D’Aran account for the only PHS firsts.

Kim Norris of PHS places third in the Div. I girls’ race at the Essex Junction (Vt.) Invitational.

Lisa Hill, Paula Preston and Shelly Strack score goals to lead Lake Placid past previously unbeaten Elizabethtown-Lewis. Patty Burdo scores for the Lions.

40 YEARS AGO (1972)

Tom Blanchard scores 4 touchdowns and a two-point conversion in Ticonderoga’s 32-20 come-from-behind win over PHS. Stetson Tanner scores all 3 TDs for the Hornets.

Tom Tyler gets 2 goals and Jim Kirkby is credited with the shutout in Westport’s 4-0 win over Schroon Lake.

Jim Martin scores twice and Lynn Wells records the shutout in Willsboro’s 2-0 victory over Crown Point.

John LaMare hits Mickey Carpenter with a 20-yard scoring strike and runs 4 yards to score leading St. John’s to a 14-8 win over AuSable Valley. Wayne Granish rushes for 140 yards for the Patriots.

Bill Proulx scores for Chazy in a 1-0 victory over Northeastern Clinton to remain unbeaten while Billy Yasment’s 4 goals lead undefeated NAC a 7-1 victory over Peru.

50 YEARS AGO (1962)

Gary Proctor and Russ VanKorb score goals as Willsboro defeats Schroon Lake 2-0.

Mike Quinn’s second goal of the game, with 2 minutes to play, lifts Westport to a 4-2 win over Crown Point.

Mike Shusda and Ronnie Chase each score twice to lead Lyon Mountain past Altona 8-4.

Mike Loughan’s 61-yard return of the second-half kickoff sets up Gary Boyer’s 9-yard TD run on the next play as St. John’s upsets PHS 7-6. Boyer adds the PAT. Ira Barbell scores for PHS on a 25-yard run, but the Hornets are stopped on their PAT try.

Robert Wallett scores to give Champlain a 2-0 win over Ellenburg while Norman Laurin gets 2 goals and an assist in Chazy’s 6-0 triumph over Saranac.

Keeseville outgains Beekmantown 248 to 52 yards in total offense, but has to settle for a 12-12 tie. Don Ford and Richard Klepes account for the Keeseville scores while Arnold Howard and Gary Garrow score for Beekmantown.

60 YEARS AGO (1952)

Clyde Rabideau scores 3 goals and Tom Allen, Bill Montgomery, Harris Merrill and Tom Giroux join in the explosion as Peru beats Champlain 16-0.

Hal Lashway boots in 3 goals and Don Jennette and Emmette Wood each contribute one as Altona defeats Morrisonville 10-0.

Norm Zile runs 86 yards to score and Dick Currier adds TD romps of 72 and 73 yards in MAI’s 19-7 win over Mineville. Macy Shapiro is a standout on defense for the Muzzlers. Dick Trybendis scores for Mineville on a 2-yard run.

Little Joe Edgley runs for 2 scores and passes to Ernie Fowler for another to lead Lake Placid over St. John’s 25-0. Rod Dashnaw accounts for the other touchdown.

Wayne Benson scores 2 touchdowns, adds 2 conversions and stars on defense as PHS rallies to beat Ticonderoga 14-7. Larry Willey scores from 5 yards for Ticonderoga.

Bill Ellithorpe’s 2-run single in the 11th scoring Linus Fobare and Clyde Baker lifts Saranac Lake to a 4-3 win over Lyon Mountain in Game 1 of the Champlain Valley Amateur Baseball League playoffs. Joe Farley’s 2-RBI single in the ninth for the Chiefs sends the game into extra innings. Roger Tolosky doubles twice for the Miners.


Ronald “Chits” O’Hara scores on a line plunge late in the game to give St. John’s a 6-6 tie with Mount Assumption. Roswell Spinks scores for MAI.