May 15, 2014

E'town-Lewis claims MVAC golf title

ELIZABETHTOWN — The Elizabethtown-Lewis golf team wrapped up its 12th-consecutive Mountain and Valley Athletic Conference championship on Wednesday with a 6-0 blanking of Westport at Cobble Hill Golf Course.

The Lions (7-0) have one match remaining in Schroon Lake on Tuesday.

Elizabethtown-Lewis’ Cortland White was medalist on the day with a 39.

Bryce Rawson, Caleb Denton, Doug LeVien, Justin LaPier and Terry Thomas also won matches for the Lions.

Elizabethtown-Lewis 6, Westport 0

No. 1- Rawson (E-L) def. Gay, 1-up. No. 2- White (E-L) def. Schrauf, 5-and-3. No. 3- Denton (E-L) def. C. Martin, 3-and-2. No. 4- LeVien (E-L) def. R. Martin, 5-and-3. No. 5- LaPier (E-L) def. Smith, 3-and-1. No. 6- Thomas (E-L) def. Conley, 4-and-3.


Schroon Lake 3½ , Willsboro 2½

SCHROON LAKE— Seth Swires fired a 39 for the low score of the day, but it was not enough as the Warriors fell to the Wildcats.

Tanner Stone, T.J. Garcia and Levi Williams all won their matches for Schroon Lake. In the No. 3 match Nathan Peace and Zach Pierson halved.

Paul Fine-Lease took home a victory in the No. 4 matchup for the Warriors, along with Swires in the No.1 match.

Schroon Lake 3½ , Willsboro 2½

No. 1- Swires (W) def. Shaughnessy, 2up. No. 2- Stone (SL) def. Arnold, 2up. No. 3- Nathan Peace (SL), Pierson halved. No. 4- Fine-Lease (W) def. Hall, 4-and-3. No. 5- Garcia (SL) def. Sheehan, 3-and-2. No. 6- Williams (SL) def. Graves, 4-and-2.



LAKE PLACID — The Blue Bombers (8-0) remained unbeaten as Bjorn Kroes led the way with a 36 for medalist honors at Craig Wood Golf Course.

Miles Lussi (46), Pat Kane (45) and Lucas Strack (41) also won matches for Lake Placid, which won the No. 4 through 6 matches.

Lake Placid hosts Beekmantown today.

Peru’s Jordan Guay carded a round of 37 to defeat Kiefer Casler (39) in the No. 1 match and the Indians’ Kyle Miller was a 40-41 winner over Ryan Kane in the No. 3 encounter.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports