June 25, 2013

Sports Shorts: June 25, 2013


---- — Girls’ FUNdaMENTAL camp set for July 22-26

PLATTSBURGH — Seton Catholic announces a girls’ FUNdaMENTAL Basketball Camp for July 22-26. Prices will remain the same as last year. For new campers: $130 and while the price for returning 2012 campers is $110. Coaches will include Chris Castine, Mike Castine, Danielle Castine and Gary Castine.

Camp will again be available for students entering grades 4-12 and will run from 9 a.m. - 1 p.m., with doors opening at 8:15 a.m. Campers will receive a basketball, t-shirt and camp evaluation.

For more information call Gary Castine at home at 298-5536. Forms may also be picked up online at or by emailing


Amoriell was tops in time trials June 19

POINT AU ROCHE — Jason Amoriell turned out the fastest time of the night on June 19, posting a time of 24 minutes, 39 seconds in the 10-mile event. Amoriell was followed closely by Jay Ruff (24:41) and Jerry Macner (24:42).

Mary Duprey finished fifth overall and was the first female finisher, posting a time of 24:52 followed by Lynne Murray (26:29) and Erin Rasco (26:38).

The Time Trials take place on Wednesday nights at the Pt. au Roche firehouse on the Lakeshore Rd. The event is free and open to all novice and experienced riders, road bikes or mountain bikes. Helmets are mandatory and all riders must obey the rules of the road. Sign up starts around 5:30 p.m. with the first rider going out at 6 p.m. Riders interested in the 25-mile event should be prepared to start between 5:30 & 5:45 p.m.


10 mile

1, Jason Amoriell, 24:39. 2, Jay Ruff, 24:41. 3, Jerry Macner, 24:42. 4, Jason Baldomir, 24:48. 5, Mary Duprey, 24:52. 6, Bruce Gugliotta, 25:10. 7, Shawn Turner, 25:20. 8, Matthew Speirs, 25:22. 9, Lynne Murray, 26:29. 10, Ed Armstrong, 26:32. 11, Erin Rasc, 26:38. 12, Kevin McCullum, 27:04. 13, Sabine Amoriell, 27:26. 14, Alicia Chase, 27:46. 14, Henry Buchala, 27:46. 16, Art Rasco, 30:31. 17, Ralph Senecal, 30:44. 18, Kevin Devins, 32:21. 19, Joe Gardner, 35:59.


MVAC announces Scholar Athlete awards

The Mountain and Valley Athletic Conference (MVAC) announces the Scholar Athletes for the 2013 spring sport season. One male and one female athlete is chosen for each sport season. The criteria for selection is a minimum of an 85 percent average, one who excels in academics and sport on the season and exhibits good sportsmanship and a positive attitude.

Chazy: Jacob Kennedy. Michaela Cahoon.

Crown Point: Dan Groshans. Taylor Booth.

Elizabethtown-Lewis: Hugh Harwood. Jennifer McGinn.

Indian Lake: Collin Farrell. Jessica Bain.

Johnsburg: Brandon Dumas. Tucker Geiger.

Long Lake: Kyle McMurty. Margaret Smith.

Minerva: Austin Williams. Shelby Hogan.

Newcomb: Jorge Bertomeu. Ashley Miller.

Schroon Lake: Tanner Stone. Abigail Wisser.

Wells: Caleb Hayes. Bobbi-Jo Page.

Westport: Gabe Schrauf. Charlotte Staats.

Willsboro: Erik Manning. Kyli Swires.


Hospice of the North Country Tournament July 13

ROUSES POINT — The 18th-Annual Hospice of the North Country Golf Tournament — formerly the Clinton County/Carol Wallett Memorial Golf Tournament — will be held Saturday, July 13, at the North Country Golf Club.

It will be a shotgun start at 9 a.m. and the format is as follows: four-person handicap scramble, men’s and women’s divisions, maximum handicaps (men-24, women-36). Entry fee includes greens fees, golf cart, prizes, gift bag and a barbecue lunch to follow tournament play. Fees are $75 per player for non-members and $55 per player for member.

To enter, contact the North Country Golf Club, at 297-5814. Entries are due by July 5.


Eric Owen/Tough Guy Open results

PLATTSBURGH — The Eric Owen/Tough Guy Open was recently held at the Barracks Golf Course.

Finishing in first were the Pepboys in a scorecard playoff. Mickey Pepper hit a wedge within a foot on 18 to force the playoff.

Finishing second was team Burgess. Skins were won by team Burgess, the Pepboys and team Beane.

The No-Show Award went to Paul Hutti.


Mayors Cup Bike Ride set for July 14

PLATTSBURGH — The Foundation of CVPH Medical Center is proud to announce it is hosting the 9th annual “Mayors Cup Bike Ride”. All proceeds go toward the Foundations CVPH Travel Fund, which assists income eligible families with travel out of the area for care not provided at CVPH Medical Center. Travel funds are used to offset food, lodging and other travel expenses.

On Sunday, July 14, riders have the choice between three different rides; the family friendly 22-mile ride, the more challenging 52-mile ride and for the advance cyclist, a 70-mile ride. All three rides start at the Medical Center’s front lawn with staggered start times: 70-mile at 8:30 a.m.; 53-mile at 9 a.m. and the 22-mile ride at 9:30 a.m.

Pre-ride registration (prior to July 9) is $40. The registration fee from July 9 to the day of the ride is $45. Please make checks payable to the Foundation of CVPH -Mayors Cup Bike Ride.

Ride day registration begins at 7:30 a.m. Riders under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult. Registration includes t-shirts to the first 150 pre-registered participants. There will be a BBQ for riders on the front lawn of the Medical Center from 11 a.m. until 2:30 p.m. Family and friends can purchase a lunch ticket for $5. Depending on the length of the ride, there are up to three rest stops with bananas, water, and granola bars. There is also SAG support with a bicycle mechanic and first aid.

The “Mayors Cup Bike Ride” is part of the annual Mayors Cup Festival & Regatta. For event information visit

For additional information, or to receive a registration form, contact Michelle Senecal at the Foundation of CVPH at 562-7169.