March 14, 2013

Sports Shorts: March 14, 2013


Contact Adam Trombley at 594-3292 or Jamie Gilmore at 594-3962, for further information.

MVAC senior game time change

SCHROON LAKE —For the MVAC senior basketball games, the boys will be playing first at 6 p.m., and then followed by the girl’s game.

All-Star awards will be passed out at half time and donations will be taken at the door, which will go to the American Cancer society. The games will still be held on March 19 at Schroon Lake High School.

Clinton County Federation of Fish and Game Club meeting

PLATTSBURGH — The Clinton County Federation of Fish and Game Club will meet at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 19 at the Conservation Building on the Fairgrounds.

The D.E.C will have a person present to explain the license changes this year and the public is welcome to attend.

Jim, Diane Barr each score hole-in-one

NICEVILLE, Fla. — Morrisonville residents Jim and Diane Barr each record a hole-in-one at the Eagle Course at the Eglin Golf Club in Niceville, Fla.

Diane scored her hole-in-one with a seven wood on 122-yard par three, on hole number two during a women’s Interclub Competition on Dec. 10, 2012.

Jim recorded his hole-in-one on Feb. 27, on the 215-yard par 3, on hole number 5, with a driver.

Chazy Flyers Bantams bow to Millbrook in state final

AMHERST, Mass. — The Chazy Flyers Bantam Major team fell to the Millbrook Knights 5-3 during the NYSAHA Tier 3 Championship Sunday in Amherst.

The Flyers outshot Millbrook 47-32, but the Knights came up with two late goals to take title.

Chazy (42-11-3) advanced to the championship game with a hard-fought 3-1 win over East Aurora in the semifinals. The Flyers also lost to Millbrook two years ago in the Peewee State finals in Chazy.

Earlier in the tournament, Chazy shut out Olean 5-0, tied Millbrook 2-2, and dominated defending Tier 3 Bantam champ Onondaga 5-0.

Team members included: Keller Kowalowski, Wade Weeden, Michael Parent, Luke Carpenter, Alex Fisher, Jonathan Goff, Alexander Gonyo, Ryan Criss, Andrew Arless, Tyler Pepper, Brendan Davison, Kevin Fisher, Seth Matott-LaBelle, Danny Bridgeman, Kyle Murphy, Kade Collins, and Christian Wawrzynski

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports