July 14, 2013

Dunn outruns Clair at Mohawk International Raceway


---- — AKWESASNE — The racing action at Mohawk was fast Friday night. Feature racing was run off very quickly due to the lack of yellow flags, but some familiar faces got the job done once again.

In the 358 Modifieds Gilles Godard and Casey Swamp led the field to the green and Godard raced out to the early lead over Swamp, Jordan McCreadie, Mario Clair and Larry Welling. Clair had a fast car and was able to wrestle the lead away on lap 5, leaving Godard, Billy Dunn, Welling and Brian McDonald to battle it out in the top five. Clair built up an advantage, but three-time winner Billy Dunn was on a mission.

At the halfway point, Dunn was able to close in and take the lead on the outside from Clair with Carey Terrance, McDonald and Chris Raabe rounding out the top 5. Welling’s great night came to an end as he broke down while running fifth, bringing out the yellow for the last time. On the final restart, Dunn pulled away, leaving Clair and the rest of the field behind. Dunn claimed his fourth win in the last five weeks. He was followed by Clair, McDonald and Raabe. Terrance rounded out the top five.

The Sportsman division was all about the trophy and check. With the Seaway GM and Performance Series in Granby, a special non-points show was held. On a restart, early leader Louie Jackson, Jr. continued his march toward victory lane, but the man on the charge was two-time track champion Dylan Evoy. After getting to second just before the halfway point, he used the patience game to reel in Jackson. On lap 14, Evoy was able to navigate traffic perfectly and take away the No. 1 spot, leaving Jackson to deal with the lapped cars.

Once in front, Evoy showed his muscle as he pulled away by a straightaway to claim his fourth win of the season over Jackson. Corey Winters’ 2013 debut resulted in a third-place finish. Robert Delormier and Zach Arquiett took fourth and fifth, respectively.

In Pro Stock action, Ryan Stabler was able to clear all traffic and begin his pursuit of frontrunner Jocelyn Roy just before the halfway point. On lap 9, Roy began to lose the handling on his car as he slipped up off the bottom of the speedway in turn four. Stabler was on his bumper, and with five to go, Stabler made the move in turn three to grab the lead. Behind him, defending track champion P.J. Peters started to go to work. He made his way to the second spot with three laps left and quickly reeled in Stabler.

On the final lap, Peters came within a car length of the leader, but it wasn’t enough as Stabler took his first Mohawk win in the caution-free race. Peters settled for second, with Stephane Lebrun, Roy and Roch Aubin rounding out the top five.

With the field battling hard, nobody was catching Joel Hargrave, as he became the first two-time winner in the Mod Lite division. Scott Waldrif settled for second, followed by Harley Brown, Mathieu Robinson and Dan Reif

The Bandits were set to go for their 10 lap feature event. Jean Marc Larose has been the man to beat all year and he flexed his muscle early by taking the lead into turn 1 from his fourth starting spot. He kept the win streak going with his fifth of the year. Darryl Mitchell was able to grab second, and Justin Desrosiers crossed in 3rd.

358 Modified

BILLY DUNN, Mario Clair, Brian McDonald, Chris Raabe, Carey Terrance, Tom Conklin, Jeff Sykes, Joel Doiron, Justin Lalancette, Casey Swamp, Jordan McCreadie, Luke Stewart, Tom Benedict, Lee Miller, David Papineau, Larry Welling, Gilles Godard, Travis Stacey, Jenna David


DYLAN EVOY, Louie Jackson, Corey Winters, Robert Delormier, Zach Arquiett, Wyatt Mullin, Neal Provost, Billy Cook, Nolan Swamp, Thomas Cook, Mike Arquiett, Ronnie Tyo, Delbert Legrow Jr., Ricky Thompson, Jasmine David, Scott Mere, Josh Brockway, Ryan Helm

Pro Stock

RYAN STABLER, PJ Peters, Stephane Lebrun, Jocelyn Roy, Roch Aubin, Allen Peters, Marc Lalonde, Mike White, Eugene Tarbell, Claude Parisien, Darryl Mainville


JEAN MARC LAROSE, Darryl Mitchell, Justin Desrosiers, Corey Castell, 33B, Dudes Thompson, Scott Banker, Randy Whiting, 91, Edward Lemieux

Mod Lite

JOEL HARGRAVE, Scott Waldrif, Harley Brown, Mathieu Robinson, Dan Reif, Brad Reif, Derek Ellsworth, Tim Reif