May 24, 2013

Tennis sectionals to feature new faces


PLATTSBURGH — There will be at least five new champions crowned this weekend in the Section VII Tennis Tournament, which will get under way at 9 a.m. today at Plattsburgh High School.

All but boys’ singles will see a new name atop the champions’ list with both doubles titles on the line and girls’ singles.

The only returning champion is Saranac’s Shawn Bissonette, who is the No. 1 seed in boys’ singles. Bissonette, who teamed with his brother, Cory, to win doubles in 2011, defeated Beekmantown’s Mark Price 6-3, 6-3 in last year’s boys’ singles final.

Peru’s Peter Daly is seeded second while Ryan Marks, of Northeastern Clinton, is the No. 3 seed and Peru’s Johnny McAuliffe, the No. 4. Marks downed Daly 6-4, 6-3, in the consolation match last year.

Lake Placid’s Georgia O’Leary is the top seed in girls’ singles, but Plattsburgh High’s Marle Curle, the No. 2 seed, made it to last year’s final before bowing to Peru’s Abby Higgins, 7-5, 6-3. O’Leary, who attended Northwood School last year, did not compete in the 2012 sectionals.

Peru’s Margaret Mitchell is seeded third, Beekmantown’s Olivia Wyand, fourth, and Plattsburgh’s Kelsey Senecal, fifth.

McKenna Hunter and Adam Khater of Northeastern Clinton form the No. 1 doubles team with Peru’s Kyle Kemp and Patrick Demarais seeded second and Plattsburgh High’s Chris Gray and Brendan Whalen, the third seed.

Hunter and Khater were runners-up last May, after dropping a tough 6-4, 2-6, 6-4 match Lake Placid’s Nick Stosiek and Alex Jelinek in the final.

Northeastern Clinton has the top two teams in girls’ doubles. Aryana Kellsion and Andrea Mossey are the top seeds while Abbie Miller and Jenna LaValley are second. Saranac’s Kristen Napper and Anna Dorrance drew the third seed.

The Section VII team champions, by division are: Peru boys (4-0) and PHS girls (5-0) in B, and Lake Placid boys (3-0) and girls (3-0) in C/D. The Lake Placid girls also won the CVAC crown with a record of 7-1 while the Peru boys were conference champs at 7-0.

Section VII Tennis Championships

First round

Friday, May 24, 2013

At Plattsburgh High School

9 a.m.

Boys’ singles

First round

Dylan Christopherson (Saranac 2) vs. Zachary Hamilton (Peru 4)

Noah Racette (Seton Catholic 3) vs. Mark Lapointe (Saranac 3)

Matt Bracy (Plattsburgh 2) vs. Kamil Ali (Seton Catholic 2)

Second round

Shawn Bissonette (Saranac 1) vs. Jordan Brilotti (NCCS 3)

Devin McManus (NCCS 2) vs. Ryan Wood (Saranac 4)

Johnny McAuliffe (Peru 2) vs. Josh Ferris (Plattsburgh 3)

Christopherson/Hamilton winner vs. Connor Bond (Peru 3)

Racette/Lapointe winner vs. Anthony Girard (Plattsburgh 1)

Tuan Luu (Plattsburgh 4) vs. Ryan Marks (NCCS 1)

Bracy/Ali winner vs. Shun Kato (Seton Catholic 1)

Troy Tetreault (NCCS 4) vs. Peter Daly (Peru 1)

Girls’ singles

First round

Kelli Ryan (Seton Catholic 1) vs. Tegan Belrose (Beekmantown 4)

Anna Stitt (Beekmantown 2) vs. Kerri Kusalonis (Peru 2)

Kayla Hudson (Lake Placid 4) vs. Michalea Courson (AuSable Valley 1)

Brenna Garrett (Lake Placid 2) vs. Shannon Egan (Seton Catholic 2)

Second round

Marle Curle (Plattsburgh 1) vs. Alexa Sorrell (NCCS 2)

Olivia Carlsson (Plattsburgh 3) vs. Ashley Guynup (AuSable Valley 2)

Ryan/Belrose winner vs. Olivia Wyand (Beekmantown 1)

Stitt/Kusalonis winner vs. Kelsey Senecal (Plattsburgh 2)

Hudson/Courson winner vs. Michaela LaFountain (Beekmantown 3)

Aurora Slater (NCCS 1) vs. Margaret Mitchell (Peru 1)

Garrett/Egan winner vs. Karley Goddeau-Stefaniak (Peru 3)

Liza Marinis (Lake Placid 3) vs. Georgia O’Leary (Lake Placid 1)

Boys’ doubles

First round

Kyle Kemp & Patrick Demarais (Peru 1)- bye

Steve Jelinek & David Knapik (Lake Placid 1) vs. Austin Tetreault & Brendan Boutin (NCCS 2)

Matt Bouyea & Elijah Boliver (Saranac 1) vs. Adam Dodge & Guillermo Saguar (Plattsburgh 2)

Justin Kellett & Scott Kellett (NAC 1) vs. Chris Gray & Brendan Whalen (Plattsburgh 1)

Mathew Rine & Camden Brockbank (Peru 2) vs. Danh Pham & Keagan Briggs (Seton Catholic 1)

McKenna Hunter & Adam Khater (NCCS 1)- bye

Girls’ doubles

First round

Aryana Kellison & Andrea Mossey (NCCS 1)-bye

Sarah Babbie & Morgan Rabideau (NCCS 3) vs. Katie Lamb & Lacey Jiguere (NAC 1)

Danielle Clemons & Sophie Morelli (Peru 2) vs. Bryn Mousseau & Nicole Mooney (Peru 1)

Kelly Cantwell & Hanah LeClair (Plattsburgh 2) vs. Lauren Richter & Alyse Clark (Seton Catholic 1)

Meagan Bull & Evelyn Vicencio (Beekmantown 3) vs. Victoria O’Leary & Grace McGrew (Lake Placid 1)

Kristen Napper & Anna Dorrance (Saranac 1)- bye

Lydia Gricoski & Teresa Minardo (Beekmantown) vs. Emilie Kniefel & Kelly Cantwell (Plattsburgh 1)

Abbie Miller & Jenna LaValley (NCCS 2)-bye