May 24, 2013

Tennis sectionals to feature new faces

PLATTSBURGH — There will be at least five new champions crowned this weekend in the Section VII Tennis Tournament, which will get under way at 9 a.m. today at Plattsburgh High School.

All but boys’ singles will see a new name atop the champions’ list with both doubles titles on the line and girls’ singles.

The only returning champion is Saranac’s Shawn Bissonette, who is the No. 1 seed in boys’ singles. Bissonette, who teamed with his brother, Cory, to win doubles in 2011, defeated Beekmantown’s Mark Price 6-3, 6-3 in last year’s boys’ singles final.

Peru’s Peter Daly is seeded second while Ryan Marks, of Northeastern Clinton, is the No. 3 seed and Peru’s Johnny McAuliffe, the No. 4. Marks downed Daly 6-4, 6-3, in the consolation match last year.

Lake Placid’s Georgia O’Leary is the top seed in girls’ singles, but Plattsburgh High’s Marle Curle, the No. 2 seed, made it to last year’s final before bowing to Peru’s Abby Higgins, 7-5, 6-3. O’Leary, who attended Northwood School last year, did not compete in the 2012 sectionals.

Peru’s Margaret Mitchell is seeded third, Beekmantown’s Olivia Wyand, fourth, and Plattsburgh’s Kelsey Senecal, fifth.

McKenna Hunter and Adam Khater of Northeastern Clinton form the No. 1 doubles team with Peru’s Kyle Kemp and Patrick Demarais seeded second and Plattsburgh High’s Chris Gray and Brendan Whalen, the third seed.

Hunter and Khater were runners-up last May, after dropping a tough 6-4, 2-6, 6-4 match Lake Placid’s Nick Stosiek and Alex Jelinek in the final.

Northeastern Clinton has the top two teams in girls’ doubles. Aryana Kellsion and Andrea Mossey are the top seeds while Abbie Miller and Jenna LaValley are second. Saranac’s Kristen Napper and Anna Dorrance drew the third seed.

The Section VII team champions, by division are: Peru boys (4-0) and PHS girls (5-0) in B, and Lake Placid boys (3-0) and girls (3-0) in C/D. The Lake Placid girls also won the CVAC crown with a record of 7-1 while the Peru boys were conference champs at 7-0.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports