July 2, 2014

Ticonderoga's Trudeau, Dorsett lead CVAC baseball all-stars

Ticonderoga dominated the Champlain Valley Athletic Conference baseball scene in 2014, going unbeaten in league play while winning the Division II championship and adding yet another Section VII Class C crown.

It comes to little surprise that the Sentinels are well represented on the CVAC coaches’ 2014 All-Stars.

Sophomore Ryan Trudeau was chosen as the league’s Most Valuable Player and Dan Dorsett as the Coach of the Year.

Ticonderoga first baseman Michael Graney, middle infielder Mark Donohue, outfielder Dominic Banish, pitcher Jarryn Granger and designated hitter Blake Gautreau were all chosen to the All-CVAC team, while middle infielder Ty Denno was selected to the Division II squad.

Division I champion Beekmantown also made out well on the all-star team, with middle infielder Alex Price, outfielders Brandon Buksa and Devin Fessette, and pitcher Greg Manney all chosen to the All-CVAC squad. Eagles’ designated hitter Brantley Marion made the Division I All-Stars.

AuSable Valley was the Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award winner.

Most Valuable Player

Ryan Trudeau, Ticonderoga- The sophomore’s second season on the varsity was an outstanding one in all aspects of the game. On the mound, he went 4-0 and had key wins over Peru, Beekmantown and Saranac. Trudeau compiled a 1.81 ERA in 27 innings. He struck out 50, walked 10 and had a WHIP of 1.07.

Offensively, he led the Sentinels as well as he had 18 hits in 10 league games for a .545 batting average. Trudeau also added 12 RBI, two doubles, a home run and walked 10 times, good for a .702 on-base percentage. When not pitching, he played first base or center field and was error free on the season.

Coach of the Year

Dan Dorsett, Ticonderoga- Dorsett has coached the Sentinels the past 15 years and collected his 200th victory this season. Ticonderoga went undefeated in league play and had a winning streak of 14 games at one point during the season. The Sentinels won both the CVAC Division II and Section VII Class C championships.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports