October 29, 2013

Airborne joins NASCAR, honors 2013 champions


---- — PLATTSBURGH — Airborne Park Speedway held its 2013 awards banquet over the weekend and announced it will be part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series in 2014.

Airborne’s affiliation with NASCAR increases the number of sanctioned weekly short tracks in New York State to five.

“NASCAR’s return to Airborne completes a full circle for us,” promoter Mike Perrotte said. “We’ve been considering joining NASCAR for a couple of years. We have one of the most exciting asphalt tracks in the Northeast. We’re finally in a position to join the NASCAR Whelen All-Amercan Series.”

The Whelen All-American Series is NASCAR’s national championship program for weekly short track auto racing. More than 50 paved and dirt tracks throughout the United States and Canada participate.

Todd Stone of Middlebury, Vt., the 2013 Airborne Ernie’s Discount Tools Modified champion, won the 2013 national NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Rookie of the Year Award.

Other drivers honored as Airborne champions at the banquet were three Plattsburgh racers – Nick Heywood (Sportsman Modified), Robin Wood (Limited Late Model) and Jayson Criss (Mini-Modified).

Lance Rabtoy of Fairfax, Vt., was the Renegade track champion.

“Most Improved” awards were presented to Maxime Viens (Modifieds), Codie Aubin (Sportsman Modifieds), Danny Sullivan (Limited Late Model), Ryan Boutin (Renegade) and Dale O’Neil (Mini-Modified).

Rookie of the Year honors went to Keith Pelkey of Clintonville (Sportsman Modified), Josh LeClaire of Plattsburgh (Renegade), Dylan Payea of Milton, Vt., (Limited Late Model) and Kaine Favro of Saranac Lake (Mini-Modified).

Kurt Giventer, a.k.a. “Metal Man” received the Airborne Sportsman of the Year award. Ed Nephew was presented with the Mike Watts Officials Award.