February 24, 2013

Flashback: February 24, 2013

10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Jamie Breyette scores twice and Ian Stanton, Ryan Lynch, Kelley Longshore and David Kopits each add a goal as Plattsburgh High School defeats Fox Lane 6-2 in the state hockey quarterfinals.

Shae Gilmore, Stacey Miner, Steph Varin, Jamie Milne and Christa Shippee lead Northern Adirondack to a 3-1 win over Lafayette (Section III). The Bobcats become the first Section VII team to win a regional volleyball title. PHS loses to Marcellus 3-1 in the regional Class B final.

Malone’s Tyler McGibbon records his 155th victory, tying Paul Pfaff for the school career mark for wrestling wins.

Beekmantown’s Josh Howard upsets Peru’s Caleb Remillard at 125 pounds to win the Most Outstanding Wrestler Award. However, Peru pulls out a 213-202 win over the Eagles to claim the Section VII title. Morgan Remillard, Joe Millett, Matt Hart, Max Rock, Ben Collins and Josh Rock win titles for Peru.

Mary Buckley scores 10 points and grabs 19 rebounds while Heidi Christon chips in with 14 points to lead Saranac to its first Section VII Class B title in 23 years with a 48-41 win over PHS.

Brynn Fessette scores 19 points and Katelyn Mockry adds 11 as Seton Catholic shocks unbeaten Ticonderoga 47-43 to claim the Class C crown.

Haley Hudgens collects 7 points, 7 rebounds and 3 steals as Westport tops Bolton 33-23 for its ninth straight Class D title and 14th in 15 years.

Anthony English tosses in 18 points to lead Saranac to a 56-44 win over Peru for the boys’ Class B crown.

Steven Thomas nets 20 and grabs 17 rebounds as NAC downs Seton Catholic 48-37 for the Class C title.

Mike Fernandez hits for 21 points as Moriah stages a big fourth-quarter rally to defeat Bolton 73-70 in the Class D final.

20 YEARS AGO (1993)

Mark Bogucki scores 21 points and Nate O’Hara, 15, as Platttsburgh High defeats Peru 62-52, in overtime, to win the Section VII Class B title. Chris Hartmann scores 19 and grabs 10 rebounds for Peru.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports