December 1, 2012

Laurin, McAuliffe lead way in Div. II boys' soccer All-Stars


---- — Editor’s Note: Photos were not received from Northern Adirondack.

The Chazy boys’ soccer team concluded another successful Northern Soccer League campaign with their sixth state championship since 2004 in a 4-0 defeat of Section II’s Fort Ann Nov. 18.

The Eagles were recognized for the feat, landing four players on the First-Team including the league’s Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year awards.

Elizabethtown-Lewis was able to garner four First-Team selections, while Northern Adirondack nabbed two.

Players from Seton Catholic and Westport were also recognized as First-Team All-Stars.

The All-Stars were selected by the Northern Soccer League coaches.


Brandon Laurin (Chazy) - Laurin’s amazing speed and great ability to beat players in one-on-one situations made him one of the most dangerous forwards in the area this year. He finished the year with 47 goals, 12 assists and 106 points. He finished his career with 126 goals.


Rob McAuliffe (Chazy) - McAuliffe led the top-ranked Eagles to a sensational season in which they outscored their opponents 127-9 to finish the year with a 21-0-1 record. The sixth Class D title for the Eagles under McAuliffe’s direction tied him for first all-time in the state in boys’ soccer with Pittsford-Mendon’s Joe Borrosh and Shenendehowa’s Mike Campisi.


Justin LaPier (Elizabethtown-Lewis) - Even though LaPier’s season was reduced by an injury, the junior keeper played 12 games between the pipes and recorded eight shutouts for the Lions.

Craig Botten (Chazy) - Botten was the player that helped organize a defense that only allowed nine goals in 22 games this year. His poise and calming influence helped him become the leader of the Eagles’ defense. He finished the season with three goals, eight assists and 14 points.

Austin Morris (Elizabethtown-Lewis) - Morris was an excellent defender that could take balls out of the air and play a strong, physical game.

Jack Newberry (Westport) - A four-year starter for Westport, Newberry played every position from striker to sweeper. In 2012, he excelled at the stopper position where he functioned as the centerpiece of the Westport defense in addition to anchoring the team’s midfield play. Newberry provided essential leadership to the squad as one of the team’s senior captains and he always served as an energizing force on the field.

Ryan Paiser (Northern Adirondack) - Paiser played a momentous role on the defensive side of ball for the Bobcats, while also scoring one goal and one assist, good for three points on the year. The team allowed two or less goals on nine occasions during the regular season.

Nathan Reynolds (Chazy) - Reynolds was the player that controlled the tempo and pace of every game this year for the Eagles. His ability to win balls in the air and score off restarts made him a serious offensive threat. He scored the game-winning goal in the state championship game on a header. The senior finished the season with 21 goals, 16 assists and 58 points.

Josh Barriere (Chazy) - Barriere was a player that could cover the whole field for the Eagles. His amazing work rate helped him defend all around the field yet he finished the season with 18 goals, 16 assists and 52 points. Barriere also scored three goals in the state championship game and was named the Final Four MVP.

Adam Tedford (Seton Catholic) - The junior midfielder led the team in scoring with 12 goals and six assists. Tedford played multiple positions for the short-handed Knights.

This is Tedford’s second year as a First-Team selection and third year in a row on the All-Star team.

Charlie Huttig (Elizabethtown-Lewis) - The midfielder was a tactical and emotional leader on and off the field for the Lions. As a central midfielder, Huttig organized the team in every aspect of the game.

Brody Hooper (Elizabethtown-Lewis) - The senior striker led the attack with 12 goals and two assists. Hooper possesses exceptional speed and brought experienced leadership to a young team.

Derek Drake (Chazy) - This year Drake scored and set up numerous goals from the forward position, but it was his ability to put constant pressure on the other team’s defenders that made him invaluable to us. The sophomore finished the season with 13 goals 16 assists, good for 42 points.

Ryan Manion (Northern Adirondack) - Manion was a scoring threat for the Bobcats throughout the entire duration of the 2012 season at forward. He had multi-goal games on three occasions, totaling eight goals and three assists on the year.

2012 Northern Soccer League

Division II All-Stars


Justin LaPier (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Craig Botten (Chazy), Austin Morris (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Jack Newberry (Westport), Ryan Paiser (NAC), Nathan Reynolds (Chazy), Josh Barriere (Chazy), Adam Tedford (Seton), Charlie Huttig (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Brody Hooper (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Derek Drake (Chazy), Ryan Manion (NAC).


Sam Napper (Westport), Justin Brothers (Chazy), Zac Noka-Bailey (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Ryan Meyer (Lake Placid), Dylan LaBarge (NAC), Hayden Guay (Chazy), Justin Kellett (NAC), Nolan Ferguson (NAC), Nick Arnold (Willsboro), Seth Swirles (Willsboro), Kayden Baugh (Seton).

Most Valuable Player: Brandon Laurin (Chazy).

Coach of the Year: Rob McAuliffe (Chazy).

Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award: Westport.