January 20, 2013

Flashback: January 20, 2013


---- —

10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Chris Roach scores 3 goals and picks up his 100th career point in Seton Catholic’s 7-0 hockey win over Potsdam.

Beekmantown opens a 19-point lead in the second half, but needs Mary Coakley’s free throws with 8 seconds to play in overtime to slip past PHS 55-53. Marcia Coakley leads the Eagles with 16 points.

Kyle LaBare nails 7 of Chateaugay’s school-record 14 3-pointers in an 81-62 win over Brushton-Moira.

Kristin Filion sinks a shot from just inside the midcourt line at the buzzer and Chazy, down by 16 at the half, goes on to stun Elizabethtown-Lewis 53-50 in overtime. Monica Angelosanto leads the Eagles with 20 points.

Steven Thomas chips in with 21 points, 11 rebounds and Zach Welch stars on defense as NAC beats PHS 53-38 to avenge its only loss of the season.

Ryan Earle sinks 5 3-pointers in a 3rd-quarter blitz and Peru rallies to defeat Saranac 57-54.

Elizabethtown-Lewis’s Joe Cashin scores 29 points to reach 1,000 for his career as the Lions dump Chazy 54-38.

Former Malone standout Kelly Wescott is named MVP of the Morgan Chase Women’s Basketball Tournament after scoring 27 points and grabbing 24 rebounds in the University of Rochester’s 3 victories.

20 YEARS AGO (1993)

Moriah’s Paul Hutchro wins the CVAC’s annual midseason diving classic.

Billie Fountain scores 23 points in Clinton Community College’s 63-54 upset of SUNY Canton. Cheryl Cayea adds 13 and Holli Blair, 11.

Jay Quenville scores 5 goals to spur Malone on to a 7-1 victory over Alexandria Central.

Willsboro beats Westport, 66-61, in triple overtime to improve to 11-1, 8-0 in MVAC play. Josh Palmer scores 20 points and Grant Cauley, 13. David Reynolds pulls down 13 rebounds. Stephen Vogel leads the Eagles with 18 points.

Chris Fess, Lenny Pereira and Tim Sullivan combine for 17 points as Plattsburgh State knocks off ECAC West hockey leader Canisius 11-7.

25 YEARS AGO (1988)

Lisa Shusda, Tonya Chase, Maryann Cayea, Tracey Lafountain and Tammy Carter lead NAC to a 16-18, 15-3, 12-15, 15-10, 15-10 victory over PHS, snapping the Hornets’ 2-year unbeaten streak in volleyball.

Brigid Connor scores 16 points while Jaqueline Everett and Heather Andrews each add 15 as St. John’s tops Northeastern Clinton 55-40 in a battle of unbeatens. Kelly Gooley leads the Cougars with 12.

Jim Ryan rips the nets for 16 points as Saranac thwarts upset-minded Saranac Lake 55-52. Curtis Upham leads the Redskins with 18.

Scott Broderick scores 4 times and Mike Campbell, twice, in St. John’s 8-1 win over Saranac Lake in hockey.

Neal Van Slyke nails 2 free throws with 4 seconds showing as Plattsburgh State, trailing by 14, rallies to defeat Albany 77-76.

Tara Breen scores 18 points and grabs 11 rebounds to lead Malone to a 59-50 win over Norwood-Norfolk.

30 YEARS AGO (1983)

Pat Gallagher and Tony LaPierre score 27 points apiece as Chazy scores its first victory over Dannemora in 8 years, 89-78.

Angelo Sutton nets 29 points to surpass 1,000 for his career as Plattsburgh High defeats Moriah 89-51. Derrick DeSimone leads the Vikings with 14.

Peru’s Jack Daly is named the Outstanding Receiver in the Ivy League after catching 55 passes for 1,034 yards for Dartmouth College.

Darren Bracy drops in 17 points as MAI upends previously unbeaten Ticonderoga 58-57. Mark McIntyre scores 25 for the Sentinels.

Dan Magee scores 4 goals and Timmy Tetreault records 38 saves in Northeastern Clinton’s 6-4 win over PHS.

Saranac Lake’s Tod Fobare becomes Union College’s all-time leading scorer in hockey with 3 goals in a 9-4 victory over Williams. Fobare has 61 goals and 92 assisrs for his career.

Kathy Twining scores 4 points in overtime to lift Peru to a 40-39 triumph over NCCS. The loss snaps the Cougars’ 43-game winning streak. Allison Spear chips in with 14 points while Eileen Roach grabs 21 rebounds. The Cougars’ Betsy Trombley is held to one point while Jenny Johnson collects 18 points and 18 rebounds.

Keene’s Bob Hickey and Rich Bisso of Plattsburgh rally to defeat Saranac Lake’s Brent Rushlaw and Joe Tyler for the 2-man national bobsled title.

40 YEARS AGO (1973)

Kevin Devins sinks a basket with 10 seconds to play, lifting AuSable Valley to a 73-71 upset of Northern Adirondack. Roy Ano pours in 36 for the Patriots while Pat Defayette leads NAC with 22.

Crown Point’s Glen Lang tops 1,000 points for his career, but Elizabethtown-Lewis comes away with an 85-68 win to improve to 14-0. Dave Olcott scores 21 points, Paul Norton, 18, Jerry Dolly, 16, and Fred Hooper, 14, for the Lions. Lang finishes with 20.

Lake Placid’s Gordon McKellen wins the men’s senior title at the U.S. Figure Skating Championships.

Dave Mayette scores 2 goals in Plattsburgh State’s 5-4 victory over the Hemmingford All-Stars. Tom Longshore and Howard Jennings also score while John Laurie is credited with the game-winner.

50 YEARS AGO (1963)

Alex Benware scores 21 points as Lyon Mountain defeats Dannemora 72-70, overcoming Jim King’s 29-point effort.

OLVA stops MAI’s 9-game winning streak with a 53-43 win. Terry Polhemus scores 22 points and Richie Daul, 13, to lead the Purple Foxes. Ron Dumas nets 11 for MAI.

David Walker tallies 22 points and Howard Reed, 18, to spark Champlain to a 69-55 victory over Mooers. Bob Mangine scores 28 for Mooers.

Russell LaFleur and Anne Sullivan of Keeseville, Julie Provost and Nancy O’Hearn of Plattsburgh, Tom Thompson of Dannemora, and David Chisholm of Morrisonville are among the age-group winners in the County Skate-o-rama on the PHS rink.

60 YEARS AGO (1953)

Georgia end Harry Babcock, who played baseball for the Plattsburgh Carlings, is drafted by the San Francisco 49ers of the National Football League.

Claude Heroux’s 3 goals help MAI beat Potsdam 6-5 in hockey. Lussier stars in goal for the Mount.

Don Ashlaw scores 22 points to spur St. Joseph’s of Malone to a 57-47 victory over MAI. Ray Diaz leads the Mounties with 22.

Johnny Owens, promoted from the junior varsity, scores 11 points to help OLVA down Dannemora 63-56. Frank Dukette scores 19 for the Knights.

70 YEARS AGO (1943)

Stratton scores 15 points and Lamberton, 10, as Mooers snaps Morrisonville’s 32-game unbeaten streak with a 33-22 victory. Griffin leads Morrisonville with 14.

Earl Roach is elected president of the Plattsburgh Rod & Gun Club. Harry Hallock, John Healey and C.B. Murray complete the slate

of officers.