January 13, 2013

Bobcats capture Livermore Invitational in tie-breaker

ELLENBURG — It went down to a tie-breaker Saturday to decide the champion in the Annual Barry Livermore Invitational Wrestling Tournament.

Host Northern Adirondack, Beekmantown and Massena all ended up with 5-1 records in the dual meet event.

For all the high school sports news...

High School Sports Magazine


Federation rules were used to break the tie, and the host Bobcats ended up winning the championship, with Massena second and Beekmantown third.

The Eagles dropped a 39-35 decision to Massena on Friday night, but won all four of their matches on Saturday, including a 41-32 win over NAC. Bruce Goddeau (220) and Cody Watts (285) recorded pins in the final two matches to rally Beekmantown from a three-point deficit.

NAC, however, posted a 50-26 victory over the Red Raiders to claim their share of the top spot.

Saturday, the Bobcats also recorded a 73-10 win over Middlebury, Vt. and a 76-12 victory over Canton/Potsdam. The Eagles also had decisions over Franklin Academy, 70-16, Ogdensburg Free Academy, 59-16, and Canton/Potsdam, 82-6.

Chosen as the Most Outstanding Wrestler in the light weights (99-145) was Massena’s Isaiah Perry at 145, and in the heavy weights (152-285) it was NAC’s Justin Kellett at 170.

The Most Exciting Match in the 99-145 division was Massena’s Perry with a 7-3 decision of Franklin Academy’s Jamiel Stapleton at 145; and in the 152-285 division NAC’s Matt Lashway with a 6-4 decision over Beekmantown’s Brandon Defayette at 195.

The Quickest Pin Award went to NAC’s Tyler LaPoint in 10 seconds at 132, and the Bill Dominic Sportsmanship Award to Massena’s Nolan Terrance.

Scores in other matches included: Massena 67, Middlebury 17; OFA 48, Franklin Academy 30; OFA 52, Middlebury 21; Middlebury 34, Canton/Potsdam 24; Massena 54, OFA 24; Massena 66, Franklin Academy 15; Massena 69, Canton/Potsdam 18; and Franklin Academy 44, Middlebury 30.

NAC 73, Middlebury, Vt. 10

285- Guerin (NAC) pinned Lussier, :26. 99- Dominic (NAC) dec. Gebo, 13-4. 106- Trombley (NAC) pinned Desabrais, 1:23. 113- Dominy (NAC) won by forfeit. 120- Pombrio (NAC) won by forfeit. 126- LaPoint (NAC) pinned White, 1:04. 132- B. LaBombard (NAC) won by forfeit. 138- King (NAC) won by forfeit. 145- C. LaBombard (NAC) won by forfeit. 152- Carpenter (NAC) won by forfeit. 160- Riley (NAC) won by forfeit. 170- J. Kellett (NAC) tech. fall over Shute, 16-0. 182- Lashway (NAC) dec. Trautwein, 11-1. 195- Gobbi (Midd) dec. Page, 11-2. 220- LaPlant (Midd) won by forfeit.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports