January 5, 2013

Indians lead Peru Wrestling Classic after first day


PERU — The day started out a little later than expected, but the semifinals are set for today’s 44th-Annual Peru Wrestling Classic.

Wrestlebacks will begin today at 10 a.m.

For all the high school sports news...

High School Sports Magazine


The semifinals will start at noon and there will be consolation matches throughout the day. The third/fourth and fifth/sixth bouts will begin at 4 p.m., with the finals slated for a 6:30 p.m. start.

“It was an exciting first day,” said Peru co-head coach Mike Hogan. “We got started late because a couple of teams had trouble getting here because of the weather.

“This was the latest we’ve finished on a Friday night.”

The host Indians lead the event with 85 points, followed by Dolgeville with 62.5, Saranac with 55, Hudson with 54 and Massena rounding out the top five with 47.5.

Peru has nine wrestlers in the semifinals, while Dolgeville has seven and Saranac six. AuSable Valley, the third CVAC team entered, had two of its matmen advance into the semifinals.

Anything can still happen.

“We’ll know more after the semifinals,” said Hogan. “Dolgeville, Saranac and Hudson are all wrestling tough.”

44th-Annual Peru Wrestling Classic

Team scores

1, Peru, 85. 2, Dolgeville, 62.5. 3, Saranac, 55. 4, Hudson, 54. 5, Massena, 47.5. 6, Ogdensburg Free Academy, 42. 7, John Jay, 41. 8, Middlebury, 36. 9, St. Johnsbury, 35.5. 10, Essex Junction, 27. 11, Spaulding, 21. 12, AuSable Valley, 18. 13, Canton-Potsdam, 15. 14, North Salem, 10. 15, Harwood, 9. 16, Colchester, 8. 17, Peru B, 2.

Today’s semifinals

99- Tanner Lapene (OFA) vs. Brandon Goddeau (Peru); Ryan Brown (Canton-Potsdam) vs. Noah Handy (Dolgeville).

106- Danny Fox (Dolgeville) vs. Michael Brown (Massena); Brody Sheppard (OFA) vs. Colin Hogan (Peru).

113- Kyler Agoney (Peru) vs. Skyler Cameron (Massena); Chad Brooks (Saranac) vs. Brandon Tyson (Spaulding).

120- Ben Nastovski (Dolgeville) vs. Cody Jolley (Spaulding); Dylan Baker (AuSable Valley) vs. Dominic Hahr (Spaulding).

126- Nick Forget (Peru) vs. Johnny Perreault (St. Johnsbury); Brian Kerschner (John Jay) vs. Vinny Bonina (Hudson).

132- Austin LaTulip (Saranac) vs. Landon Laughlin (Massena); Tanner Phillips (Peru) vs. Tim Parker (Hudson).

138- Pat O’Connell (Hudson) vs. Jordan Bushey (Peru); Codie Gillette (Saranac) vs. Isaiah Perry (Massena).

145- Noah Phillips (Peru) vs. Ian Nagle (Dolgeville); Will Marcil (Saranac) vs. Bailey Phelps (OFA).

152- Triston Engle (Dolgeville) vs. James Black (Saranac); Dylan Shattuck (St. Johnsbury) vs. Teddy Fleming (North Salem).

160- David Rogers (Hudson) vs. Jerry Barich (Colchester); Brennon Silver (St. Johnsbury) vs. Richard Lyon (Dolgeville).

170- Troy Seymour (Peru) vs. Skyler Shute (Middlebury); Kegan Pearsall (Harwood) vs. Andrew Cole (OFA).

182- Jakob Trautwein (Middlebury) vs. Jose Telles (Hudson); Kasey Foster (Dolgeville) vs. Bob Baraka (Essex Junction).

195- Billy Gossett (John Jay) vs. Nick Henry (Essex Junction); Gabe Leberge (Middlebury) vs. Victor Zabalu (Hudson).

220- Luke McKee (Peru) vs. Paul Herrera (Saranac); Michael Thompson (AuSable Valley) vs. Louis Talia (John Jay).

285- Ethan Smith (John Jay) vs. Nolan Terrance (Massena); Walter Odell (Middlebury) vs. Joe Ramada (Essex Junction).