March 20, 2012

Flashback: March 20, 2012


---- —

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

▶ Plattsburgh's Shane Hubbell places 18th in boardercross at the National Snowboarding Championships.

▶ Sarah Sandwick and Kaitlin Branon of Plattsburgh are selected to represent New York State in the Chicago Showcase for girls' hockey.

▶ Peru's Matt Bezio is named Class B Player of the Year for 2001 and Larry Ewald, Coach of the Year, by the New York State Football Coaches Association.

▶ Former Peru standout Jeff Way is named Saranac head coach in football.

▶ Kristin LaVallie, Aimee Marsh, Jess Harrica, Ashley Sherman and Jenna Proctor are named to the All-State team in girls' basketball.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

▶ Larry Zinger scores twice and Chris Fess, Jim Duran, Steve Moore, John Peron and Matt Furtado add one each to lead Plattsburgh State to a 7-3 victory over 3-time defending champion Wisconsin-Stevens Point before a Stafford Arena crowd of 3,000 and a live television audience.

▶ Elmira College's Mike McNamara, knocked unconscious in a March 14 hockey game at Plattsburgh State, will make a full recovery. His family is in Plattsburgh to thank the medical personnel and community for their support.

▶ Lake Placid's Linda Friedlander is ranked first in doubles and second in singles among senior women in the Northeast in tennis.

▶ Gary Fessette scores 29 points while Tom Lacey and Tom Ryan chip in with 23 apiece to lead McSweeney's to a 96-92 double-overtime victory over Corrado's Construction in the championship game of the Midas Mudhens Adult Basketball League. Pat McGinn tosses in 41 points and Ron Hamel, 35, for Corrado's.

▶ Junior Russell Holland is recognized for leading the SUNY Cortland hockey team in scoring with 24 goals, 21 assists.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

E Dave Piromalli scores 4 goals and Jean Simon Bibeau, Gerry Dineen, Jeff Bunyon and Joey Ferras each add one as Plattsburgh State defeats SUNY Oswego 8-2 in the NCAA Div. III hockey championship game. The Cardinals are later stripped of the title for NCAA violations that occurred from 1984-86.

▶ Doug Riley resigns as Plattsburgh State men's basketball coach after one year to accept a position as head coach of Division I Armstrong State in Savannah, Ga.

▶ Dr. Joanna Davenport resigns after 20 months as Plattsburgh State athletic director. The school will honor her 3-year, $52,000 a year contract.

▶ Donna Dixon, averaging 19.9 points per game, and T.J. Cornwright, figuring for 16 a game, are named to the All-SUNYAC women's basketball team for the second straight year.

▶ Plattsburgh State Junior Joey Ferras is named a First-Team All-American after leading the Cardinals with 39 goals, 52 assists.

▶ MVP Keith Cieplicki and Jeff Brown each score 22 points and Joe Cardany chips in with 19 as Oliver's wins its third straight PBA basketball championship, beating Ju-Ice 111-100.

30 YEARS AGO (1982)

▶ The Bootz sisters (6-foot-five Delores and 6-foot-3 Barbara) combine for 42 points and 43 rebounds to lead Marlboro to a 75-40 victory over Moriah in the Capital Conference Class C girls' basketball final. Darcy Gilbo scores 14 points and Denise Simard, 11 with 12 rebounds, for Moriah.

▶ MVP Drew Skonberg drops in 52 points in 3 games to lead Peabody's to a 79-75 triumph over 5-time tourney champ Patrick's Food Service in the PBA final. Larry Parker and Jeff Brown also stand out in the title game.

▶ Danyk Lemaire's goal in the second overtime lifts the Plattsburgh Roadrunners to a 4-3 victory over Kenan in the final of the New York State Squirt B Hockey Championships. Team members include Billy Morlock, Michael Daul, Jon Bazzano, Freddy Breyette, Adam Wolfe, Todd Seymour, Chris Dandrow, Jeff Jiampetti, Jay Perras, Scott Broderick and Robbie Dandrow. Mike Dandrow and Grant Broderick are the coaches.

40 YEARS AGO (1972)

▶ Plattsburgh's Dave Damour, a senior at Canton ATC, finishes second in the NJCAA Region III Wrestling Tournament.

▶ Senior co-captain Phil Beaney of Lake Placid scores 12 goals to go with 9 assists for Norwich University.

▶ MVP Cornell Washington, a 6-foot-4 student at Paul Smith's College, scores 67 points in 3 games to lead Dew Drop Inn of Saranac Lake to a 108-80 victory over The Store in the final of the 7th-Annual PBA Basketball Tournament. Wayne Morgan leads the way in the final with 31 points while Bobby Clark scores 22 for The Store.

▶ Pete Stone of The Store is named most valuable player of the Northern Broomball League. First-team all-stars include Wayne Ducatte, Tom Gebo, Dick Johnson, Bill Dragoon, Gary Duquette and Dom Faziano.

50 YEARS AGO (1962)

▶ Plattsburgh's Wayne Lashway, averaging 20.1 points a game, is named Plattsburgh State's most valuable player for the 1961-62 season.

▶ Senior co-captain Tim Mannix of Plattsburgh is named to the Middle Eastern Conference All-Star Team after leading Siena College to its first winning season in men's basketball in 10 years.

▶ Buddy DeCarlo of the Plattsburgh Boys Club decisions John Foulkes in Troy to claim the 154-pound title and his fourth Adirondack AAU District boxing championship in 5 years.

▶ Jimmy Creedon wins the 112-pound title by forfeit, giving coach Howard Dubray and the Boys Club boxing team a second district title.

▶ Lake Placid's Ken LeBel returns from a 2-year absence to win the North American Indoor Speedskating Senior Open title in Lake Placid.

▶ Eldon Burdo scores 19 points while Jim Lacey and Marvin Rumrill chip in with 18 apiece and Ken Bushey, 11, as Altona defeats Newcomb 71-63 to win the Section VII Class C boys' basketball crown. Bennett nets 19 and Stickney, 17, for Newcomb.

60 YEARS AGO (1952)

E Ken Hargett tallies 14 points and Genier, 11, to spark Port Henry to a 49-45 win over Plattsburgh High in the Section VII Class B basketball final. Wayne Benson tosses in 18 points and Fran Horne, 15, for Plattsburgh.

▶ Newcomb overcomes Cram's 21-point effort to defeat Keene Valley 46-38 for the Section VII Class C basketball title. Putnam leads Newcomb with 17.

▶ Bob Carpenter nets 12 points and Jim Sears, 11, to lead the E. S. Mason Cards to a 56-54 victory over McMartin Motors/Paul Smith's College in the Gold Medal Basketball Tournament final. Ed Donchey tallies 11 points and Tom Ravida, 10, to lead McMartin's.

70 YEARS AGO (1942)

E Butterfield scores 17 points and Dupuis, 14, to lead Port Henry to a 53-49 victory over the Burlington Brushmakers in the Gold Medal Basketball Tournament.

▶ Merigis, Samuelson and Kotary account for all 45 points in the Plattsburgh Ramblers' 45-43 victory over the Chazy Athletic Association. Fezette leads Chazy with 23 points.