March 22, 2014

Roytman, Alex Jensen receive All-America nods

LEWISTON, MAINE— Barry Roytman and Alex Jensen represented Plattsburgh State on the 2014 CCM Division II-III Men’s Hockey All-America Teams.

NCAA semifinalist St. Norbert led the way with four selections, followed by Babson and Trinity with three honorees each. The SUNY Athletic Conference’s Geneseo and Buffalo State both received one selection.

Senior forward Travis Janke of Norwich is the only repeat All-American from 2013 (Second Team).

Roytman, a senior defenseman, earned Second-Team recognition after putting up career numbers for the Cardinals. The Staten Island native scored a career-best five goals and tied his career assist mark with nine. His 14 points ranked 10th on Plattsburgh’s scoring list, and he led the team with four power-play goals.

Roytman helped anchor a defense that allowed just 1.92 goals per game.

Jensen, who made the Third Team, led the Cardinals offensively this season, posting team-highs in goals (13), assists (16) and points (29). All three numbers surpassed the junior forward’s career marks. The Helsingborg, Sweden native tallied three game-winners, which tied for the team lead. He added three goals on the power play and one while short-handed.

The All-America Teams were chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.

East First Team

G- Jamie Murray, SO, Babson

D- Louis Belisle, SR, Middlebury

D- Ryan Heavey, SR, Babson

F- Jackson Brewer, JR, Trinity

F- Travis Janke, SR, Norwich

F- Zachary Vit, SR, Geneseo

East Second Team

G- Sean Dougherty, JR, Williams

D- Michael Flynn, JR, Trinity

D- Barry Roytman, SR. Plattsburgh

F- Michael Hawkrigg, SO, Trinity

F-Trever Hertz, SR, Utica

F- Peter MacIntyre, SO, UMass Boston

East Third Team

G- Kevin Carr, SR, Buffalo State

D- Colin Downey, SR, Bowdoin

D- Anton Racklin, JR, Manhattanville

F- Mike Driscoll, JR, Babson

F- Alex Jensen, JR, Plattsburgh

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports