April 3, 2012

Flashback: April 3, 2012

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

E Freshman Kristen Jodoin of Plattsburgh scores 3 goals and adds 5 assists for the season in helping Elmira College capture the first ever NCAA Div. III Women's Hockey Championship.

▶ Missy Darrah and Tracy Mitchell hurl complete-game victories for Plattsburgh State in a doubleheader sweep of the Merchant Marine Academy. Randi Johnson, Jenny Reyell and Carrie Clement are the hitting stars. Later, Lisa Marlow tosses a no-hitter in a 1-0 win over SUNY Brockport.

▶ MVP Randy Alexander nets 21 points, Claude Doran adds 18 and Ricky Voley and Dwight Walton chip in with 13 apiece as United Sports Council out of Montreal defeats Pepsi/Lum's 91-88 to win the 35th PBA Basketball Tournament. Corey Osinski hits for 29 points for Pepsi and Mike Ogbon, 27.

▶ Plattsburgh State drops a 2-1 decision to Skidmore College in its first baseball game in 26 years. The Cardinals rebound behind the pitching of Mike Bergman and hitting of Joe Brand and Jason Deshaies to win the second game 6-4.

▶ Jason Lappies scores the tieing and winning goals as Plattsburgh State stuns nationally ranked Clarkson University 8-5 in lacrosse.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

E McSweeney's sweeps the regular season and playoff titles in the Midas Adult Basketball League with a cast that includes Tom Ryan, Dale Favreau, Gary Fessette, Mike Rascoe, Scott Beebie, Robin Vaughan, Bryan Foster and Tom Lacey.

▶ Plattsburgh's Chris Provost, in her second year of competition, scores 424 out of a possible 445 to place second in Women's Bowhunter Freestyle at the New York State Archery Championships.

▶ MVP Derrick Rowland pours in 34 points and Elander Lewis chips in with 31 as Copper Penny from Albany defeats Montreal-based United Sports Council 100-99 to win the PBA Basketball Tournament. Ashley Smith tallies 25 to lead USC while Dwight Walton adds 24 and Donald Juhn, 20.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

E Matt Fitzpatrick and Todd Dame each score 16 points while Sean Hopkins contributes 14 points and 16 rebounds as Murphy's Insurance tops St. John Bosco 56-46 to win the Franklin CYO Basketball League crown. Mike Marion leads St. John Bosco with 18 points while Mike Dumas nets 13.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports