May 25, 2013

Chiefs, Eagles look for Sect. VII track repeats

PLATTSBURGH — The Saranac boys and Beekmantown girls recently wrapped up Champlain Valley Athletic Conference track and field titles, and today both teams will look to add sectional crowns.

Plattsburgh High School hosts the Section VII Track and Field Championships, with the field events starting at 9 a.m. and running events beginning at 10 a.m.

For all the high school sports news...

High School Sports Magazine


The Beekmantown girls will try to defend their 2012 title, while the Saranac boys are seeking their fifth straight championship.

The Chiefs’ Jeremy Bullis is the defending Section VII champion in the discus. Other Saranac athletes to watch include Dustin Durgan, Ty Tedford and Sobaan Ayub, who were all on the winning 1,600-meter relay team last year.

Ticonderoga’s Jay Hebert is the reigning sectional champion in two events: the 200 and his specialty, the 110 hurdles.

Nathan Foster of Beekmantown is the defending champion in the 100 dash, and AuSable Valley’s Paul Ford returns as the current title-holder in the high jump.

On the girls’ side, Kallie Villemaire and Kirsten Villemaire led the way for Beekmantown during the regular season. Kallie Villemaire, Courtney Wilson, Mikaela Frechette and Lindsey Gonyea were all on the winning 400 relay at last year’s sectional meet. Emily Anderson, a junior, will be looking to claim the discus for the fourth consecutive year.

Northeastern Clinton’s Mallory Honan enters today as the defending champion in the 100 hurdles, the long jump and the triple jump. She’s also slated to run the 200 today.

Lea Perry of Peru will try to defend her 2012 high jump crown. EKMW’s Halie Snyder is seeking a repeat win the 200.


Check out the latestedition of Varsity Voicefeaturing NortheasternClinton senior Mallory Honan at

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports