June 9, 2013

Turner wins Renegade 100 at Airborne


---- — PLATTSBURGH — Richie Turner of Fairfax, Vt. won the Furniture World of VT Renegade 100 at Airborne Speedway Saturday and pocketed a $500 bonus on top of the $1,000 winner’s check for the way he did it.

Turner opted to start the second half of the race at the rear to earn the extra money after taking the lead from Robert Gordon on lap 37. He opened up large lead before a mandatory pit stop at the halfway mark. His dominance in the second half of the race was even more impressive.

Turner had his Don Turner Automotive No. 17 in third place five laps. On a restart on lap 61 he swept into the lead and was never headed. Gordon held onto the runner-up spot despite being hard-pressed by Josh Terry and Lance Rabtoy over the final 20 laps. Terry finished 3rd, ahead of Rabtoy 4th and Ryan Boutin 5th.

Defending track champion Todd Stone won the first of two Modified features in a race resumed after being postponed after 10 laps last week. Stone started on the front row with George Foley and the pair ran 1-2 a few car-lengths apart the rest of the way. Patrick Dupree, Kris Vernold and Andy Lindeman finished in a pack 3-4-5. The second half of the top ten went to Leon Gonyo, Andy Heywood, Chris Cayea, Craig Reyell and Mike Wells. The complete finish of the event is under review and still unofficial.

In the Della Auto/Subway Modified nightcap, Patrick Dupree was much the best in the Labatt Blue No. 24. It was Dupree’s first win of the season and the 28th of his career. Chris Cayea had his best showing of the season to claim second by holding off Andy Lindeman who crossed the line third at his bumper. Kris Vernold was 4th with Todd Stone 5th. The finish of the second Modified feature is also still unofficial.

Nick Heywood of Plattsburgh won the first of two J&S Steel Sportsman Modified 25-lap features. Heywood overtook Joe Daniels of Saranac with three laps to go. Daniels held off Mike Phinney to claim runner-up honors.

Phinney landed in victory lane in the second Sportsman feature after a lengthy duel with Codie Aubin. Aubin edged Travis Bruno for second. Rick Doner and Bobby Therrien finished 4-5.

Robin Wood won the Limited Late Model main event convincingly after passing runner-up Dylan Payea on lap 13 of the 25-lap race. Jamy Begor, Bucko Branham and Shawn Duquette completed the top five.

Dale O’ Neill of Mooers and Josh LaPorte of Peru won the Mini Modified features. It was O’Neill’s second win of the season and LaPorte’s first.