January 4, 2012

Flashback: Jan. 2, 2012

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

Matt Bezio, quarterback for the state champion Peru Indians, is named New York State Player of the Year in Class B football while teammates Matt St. Clair, Mike Oertel and Chris Brunell also earn first-team honors. Saranac Lake's Evan Kivlen, Kelly Gordon of AuSable Valley, and Ticonderoga's Jason Fish land on the third team.

Jerrad Dumont drops in 27 points, Adam Pelletier adds 17 and Anthony Rushford grabs 18 rebounds to lead Chateaugay to a 57-42 win over Chazy. Mike Barcomb leads the Eagles with 15.

Adam Porter scores 21 points and Jarod Johnson, 19, as Ticonderoga prevails 65-59 to give Coach Mike Graney his first win in Peru. Brandon Keleher leads the Indians with 11.

Amanda Abbott and Erin Beglin each score 12 and Nicole Ottavinia adds 10 to lead Lake Placid to a 51-37 win over Schroon Lake. Jenny Jenks nets 16 for the Wildcats.

Aimee Marsh collects 26 points and 14 rebounds in Westport's win over Crown Point.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

Tom Welch comes up with 15 points, 10 rebounds and 3 blocks as Saraanc beats PHS 60-48 to retake the CVAC Div. I lead. Scott Barr adds 13 and Mike Recore, 12, for the Chiefs while freshman Nathan O'Hara leads the Hornets with 16.

Scott LaFountain pumps in 30 points to spark Northeastern Clinton to a 67-57 win over Peru. Tim Sweeney leads the Indians with 22.

Steve Vogel's 18-point effort paces Westport to a 54-51 win over Chazy. Aric Baier leads Chazy with 12.

Doug Allen scores 23 and Randy Pertak, 16, in Crown Point's 73-67 triumph over Elizabethtown-Lewis. Chad Montville leads the Lions with 24.

Pat O'Neil comes through with 44 saves and Mike Jolin scores with 46 seconds left to give PHS a 2-1 win over Potsdam. Jamie Latinville gets the other PHS goal.

Lisa Brelia scores 16 points and Alicia LaValley, 15, as Plattsburgh State slips past Skidmore 56-46.

Tony Strack and Mike Strack each score twice in Lake Placid's 6-1 hockey win over St. Lawrence Central.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports