August 4, 2013

Bresette wins 1st, Branham wires Late Models

PLATTSBURGH — Johnmichael Bresette of Keeseville drove to his first career Sportsman Modified win on Culligan Water Technologies Night at Airborne Saturday.

Bresette led every lap in the VFW Post 105 No. 14, but he had Rick Doner — also looking for his first win — hot on his tail after the race’s second and last caution on lap 18. Point leader Nick Heywood got up for 3rd at the wire, besting Lonnie Rivers (4th) and Mike Phinney (5th).

“In practice, I struggled, but by the feature, it was on a rail,” Bresette said. “I’m dedicating this win to my Uncle Reggie, who was a champion here in the 70’s.”

Bucko Branham made the most of a rare start on the pole in the Limited Late Model 25-lap feature. Branham opened up a sizeable lead early in the Bud Light No. 20 and was never seriously threatened. Dylan Payea was the runner-up. Fast-closing Robin Wood, hoping for a caution that never came, finished 3rd after contact with Danny Sullivan as the two cars tried to negotiate lap traffic on the final circuit. Jamy Begor and Shawn Duquette completed the top five.

“We tried a few things this week on the car and it worked,” Branham said.

John Zych Jr. of Mendon, Mass. won the NEMA Midget 25-lap main event. Zych entered the event as NEMA’s only two-time winner this season and held a slight point advantage over defending champion Randy Cabral, who went flying off the second turn on the opening lap.

Zych took the lead from Russ Stoehr on lap 5 and held it the rest of the way. Ian Cumens of Lydell. PA and Seth Carlson waged a terrific duel for 2nd over the final 10 laps with Cumens prevailing. Earlier, Cumens drove to victory in the NEMA Midget Lite feature.

Jason McClatchie of Plattsburgh reeled in Tylor Terry and Robert Gordon to earn his 4th Renegade win. McClatchie passed Gordon on lap 14 and swapped the lead twice with Terry before taking command in the Ukie’s Deli/S&L Trucking No. 70. on lap 17. Gordon, point leader Richie Turner, Terry and Jon Boutin finished 2-3-4-5.

Kris Clark of Keeseville won the Busch Mini Modified feature. Jayson Criss held off Eric Reyell for 3rd.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports