Press-Republican

In My Opinion

In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Jay says sewer work wasn't being done

    We, the Jay Town Council, are responding to an opinion column written by Black Brook Town Councilor Howard Aubin, writes Jay Town Supervisor Randall Douglas.

    March 5, 2013

  • In My Opinion: A pope to meet church challenges There are a lot of strange and unusual events in the news these days, but one of the most unusual of all is the resignation of Pope Benedict, writes the Rev. Bernie Menard of St. Peter's Church.

    February 27, 2013

  • In My Opinion: CCC efforts to balance budget

    An ancient Chinese proverb says, "May you live in interesting times." Whether this is a blessing or a curse depends on us, writes Clinton Community College President John Jablonski.

    February 25, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Business owner opposes wage hike

    I have owned one or more small businesses in Clinton County since 1990, Under One Roof Movie Store owner Becky Leonard writes.

    February 20, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Doctors support Choosing Wisely

    Americans pay more for health care than anywhere else in the world, but we don't enjoy better health than most Western countries, writes Dr. Joel Wolkowicz, medical director at CVPH.

    February 13, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Creating a college culture

    Imagine this: You're a 16-year-old high-school student scraping by with a C average, writes College for Every Student President Rick Dalton.

    February 6, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Champlain water use, cost explained

    I would like to respond to a letter that was printed in the Jan. 14 edition of the Press-Republican entitled "Champlain Water," Mayor Gregory Martin writes.

    January 23, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Impact of testing on academic freedom Much has been said, in recent months, about the significant increase in New York state testing and its negative impact on the students, particularly those in the elementary grades, writes Kevin Mulligan, president of the Northeastern Zone of New York State Retired Teachers Association.

    January 14, 2013

  • In My Opinion: The 'Farm Bill:' Call it what it is

    The so-called "Farm Bill" continues to be one of the more controversial aspects of our nation's budget, writes Shelia Marshman, president-elect of New York Agri-Women.

    January 9, 2013

  • In My Opinion: A trail on the right track

    A little over a year ago, with Thanksgiving two days away and a snowstorm looming, workers took what was literally the last load of asphalt produced for the 2011 construction season and laid it down, linking a graceful S-curve path up a hill on the SUNY Plattsburgh campus to the swooping swerve of Steltzer Avenue, writes Luke Cyphers, chair of the Saranac River Trail Advisory Committee.

    December 21, 2012

Videos: Editor Picks