Press-Republican

In My Opinion

In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Equal rights for transgender

    The Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act (GENDA) is New York state's transgender non-discrimination bill, writes transgender advocate Kelly Metzgar of Saranac Lake.

    July 3, 2013

  • In My Opinion: SUNY set to move plan forward

    Gov. Andrew Cuomo's Tax-Free NY proposal to allow new businesses to operate tax free on SUNY campuses opens up new and exciting paths of opportunity for New York, writes Tim Killeen, PhD., SUNY vice chancellor for research.

    June 18, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Response to BCS budget criticisms

    We have often wondered why people who think they have all of the answers do not realize they don't, write former Beekmantown Central School Board members Karen Armstrong and Stan Kourofsky.

    June 12, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Divided loyalties on Keeseville dissolution

    I feel that over the nine months, the Keeseville Dissolution Committee performed a very comprehensive study of our task and presented a detailed and complete draft plan to the Village Board on schedule, write committee member Leon Clodgo.

    June 3, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Accountability, control lacking

    The abuse of New York state high-school referees and officials by parents, fans and others is so common as to almost "come with the territory" or job, writes longtime official and coach James Lacey.

    May 27, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Civil discussion of AMC plan needed

    As revenues to Adirondack Health diminish from improved outpatient services and decreasing insurance reimbursement, the cost of the low-census Lake Placid Emergency Department may not be justified, writes local surgeon Dr. Claude Roland.

    May 10, 2013

  • In My Opinion: It needn't be rails vs. trails

    It should be noted that the focus of Adirondack North Country Association's resolution is on the "mixed-use management objectives" of the existing Unit Management Plan, writes Stephen M. Erman, president of the Adirondack North Country Association Board.

    May 8, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Shaping the American identity

    What an interesting time to be an American, especially considering the construction of the American identity, writes J.W. Wiley, director of the SUNY Plattsburgh Center for Diversity, Pluralism and Inclusion.

    April 12, 2013

  • In My Opinion: American way or American waist?

    How will the saga about New York City soda size end, and why should we care? asks SUNY Plattsburgh associate professor of nutrition Jorunn Gran-Henriksen.

    April 10, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Standardized tests about making money

    Experts agree, what should be abundantly clear about the use of standardized tests is that statistically based, oversimplified measures of performance are unable to account for the complexity in educational systems or account for the variety of individual learning outcomes, writes veteran educator Robert L. Arnold.

    April 3, 2013