Press-Republican

In My Opinion

In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Access to treatment is crucial

    As behavioral health professionals, we know that mental illness and substance abuse does not discriminate against class, color, race, gender or socio-economic status, writes Behavioral Health Services North President Craig Amoth.

    August 27, 2013

  • What do parents really want?

    Earlier this month, the State Education Department released results from the first standardized tests tied to new Common Core learning standards, writes Richard C. Iannuzzi, president of the New York State United Teachers.

    August 26, 2013

  • In My Opinion: County signed water pact with town

    After reading a recent article in the Press-Republican about the cost of water for the Essex County Public Safety Building, I felt the need to address a few concerns, writes Lewis Town Council member Jim Monty.

    July 27, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Green light to racial profiling

    My heart was broken over the recent verdict in the George Zimmerman murder trial of Trayvon Martin, writes Dr. J.W. Wiley of the SUNY Plattsburgh Center for Diversity, Pluralism and Inclusion.

    July 16, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Nurses can recover from addiction

    This letter is in response to recent articles in the Press-Republican reporting the arrests of nurses on charges of drug diversion, a behavioral symptom of a disease called addiction, writes Ellen Brickman of the Statewide Peer Assistance for Nurses Program.

    July 9, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Equal rights for transgender

    The Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act (GENDA) is New York state's transgender non-discrimination bill, writes transgender advocate Kelly Metzgar of Saranac Lake.

    July 3, 2013

  • In My Opinion: SUNY set to move plan forward

    Gov. Andrew Cuomo's Tax-Free NY proposal to allow new businesses to operate tax free on SUNY campuses opens up new and exciting paths of opportunity for New York, writes Tim Killeen, PhD., SUNY vice chancellor for research.

    June 18, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Response to BCS budget criticisms

    We have often wondered why people who think they have all of the answers do not realize they don't, write former Beekmantown Central School Board members Karen Armstrong and Stan Kourofsky.

    June 12, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Divided loyalties on Keeseville dissolution

    I feel that over the nine months, the Keeseville Dissolution Committee performed a very comprehensive study of our task and presented a detailed and complete draft plan to the Village Board on schedule, write committee member Leon Clodgo.

    June 3, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Accountability, control lacking

    The abuse of New York state high-school referees and officials by parents, fans and others is so common as to almost "come with the territory" or job, writes longtime official and coach James Lacey.

    May 27, 2013