Press-Republican

In My Opinion

In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Adirondack Health partners to aid aging population

    For years, our region and communities across the country have relied on nursing homes to care for people who may no longer be able to live on their own or may require a customized short-term rehabilitation program following surgery or a major health event, writes Adirondack Health CEO Chandler Ralph.

    June 24, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Copyrights help people be informed

    Every day, city hall reporters at local newspapers distill hours of city council meetings into cogent stories that inform readers about how their elected officials are spending their tax dollars.

    May 21, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Study of French language crucial

    In the current budget crises, proposals to reduce or eliminate French language instruction have been recommended in a number of school districts.

    May 13, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Project benefits economy, environment

    No doubt about it, Vermonters are passionate about the Green Mountain state. That's a healthy sign of an engaged citizenry, writes Vermont Gas CEO Don Gilbert.

    May 6, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Spirit Airlines addressing complaint rate

    Articles were recently published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest Department of Transportation customer complaint rate among U.S. airlines, writes Spirit CEO Ben Baldanza.

    April 22, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Integration should be future of health care

    For several years now, we have heard discussion about the effectiveness and efficiencies expected from the Affordable Care Act, writes Behavioral Health Services North CEO Craig Amoth.

    April 21, 2014

  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014