Press-Republican

In My Opinion

In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Keeseville dissolution letter challenged I am was a member of the Dissolution Study Committee that worked on the Village of Keeseville Dissolution Plan before it was presented and "accepted" by the village mayor and trustees, writes Chesterfield Town Supervisor Gerald Morrow.

    October 16, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Town may need to exceed tax cap

    In an effort to control rising property taxes, Gov. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature placed a cap on expenditures that municipalities can make in a given year, writes Plattsburgh Town Supervisor Bernie Bassett.

    October 15, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Eliminate one Jay town justice

    We encourage the residents of the Town of Jay to get out and vote "yes" from noon to 8 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 16, to eliminate one of the two town-justice positions in the Town of Jay, writes Town Supervisor Randall Douglas and Jay Town Council members.

    October 14, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Land swap a win-win for all

    This Election Day, Adirondackers and people across New York state will have an opportunity to demonstrate that good jobs and a healthy environment can successfully co-exist -- right here in our backyard, write town Supervisors David Blades and Ed Hatch.

    September 27, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Carrying out lawful duties I read in amazement the Sept. 6 Press-Republican article entitled "Officials berate sheriff on staff's duties," writes retired Ticonderoga Police Chief Jeffrey Cook.

    September 13, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Access to treatment is crucial

    As behavioral health professionals, we know that mental illness and substance abuse does not discriminate against class, color, race, gender or socio-economic status, writes Behavioral Health Services North President Craig Amoth.

    August 27, 2013

  • What do parents really want?

    Earlier this month, the State Education Department released results from the first standardized tests tied to new Common Core learning standards, writes Richard C. Iannuzzi, president of the New York State United Teachers.

    August 26, 2013

  • In My Opinion: County signed water pact with town

    After reading a recent article in the Press-Republican about the cost of water for the Essex County Public Safety Building, I felt the need to address a few concerns, writes Lewis Town Council member Jim Monty.

    July 27, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Green light to racial profiling

    My heart was broken over the recent verdict in the George Zimmerman murder trial of Trayvon Martin, writes Dr. J.W. Wiley of the SUNY Plattsburgh Center for Diversity, Pluralism and Inclusion.

    July 16, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Nurses can recover from addiction

    This letter is in response to recent articles in the Press-Republican reporting the arrests of nurses on charges of drug diversion, a behavioral symptom of a disease called addiction, writes Ellen Brickman of the Statewide Peer Assistance for Nurses Program.

    July 9, 2013