Press-Republican

In My Opinion

In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Propositions 4, 5 deserve support

    I write this to encourage everyone to vote "yes" on two very important constitutional amendments, writes former State Assemblywoman Teresa Sayward.

    October 30, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Support for state amendments

    As we approach Election Day, I am foregoing my normal letter of support for individual candidates to speak to the voters about the six constitutional amendments that will be on the ballot on Nov. 5, writes Assemblywoman Janet Duprey.

    October 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Village shouldn't be dissolved

    The Village of Keeseville is at the crossroads, writes Mayor Dale Holderman.

    October 17, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Keeseville dissolution letter challenged I am was a member of the Dissolution Study Committee that worked on the Village of Keeseville Dissolution Plan before it was presented and "accepted" by the village mayor and trustees, writes Chesterfield Town Supervisor Gerald Morrow.

    October 16, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Town may need to exceed tax cap

    In an effort to control rising property taxes, Gov. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature placed a cap on expenditures that municipalities can make in a given year, writes Plattsburgh Town Supervisor Bernie Bassett.

    October 15, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Eliminate one Jay town justice

    We encourage the residents of the Town of Jay to get out and vote "yes" from noon to 8 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 16, to eliminate one of the two town-justice positions in the Town of Jay, writes Town Supervisor Randall Douglas and Jay Town Council members.

    October 14, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Land swap a win-win for all

    This Election Day, Adirondackers and people across New York state will have an opportunity to demonstrate that good jobs and a healthy environment can successfully co-exist -- right here in our backyard, write town Supervisors David Blades and Ed Hatch.

    September 27, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Carrying out lawful duties I read in amazement the Sept. 6 Press-Republican article entitled "Officials berate sheriff on staff's duties," writes retired Ticonderoga Police Chief Jeffrey Cook.

    September 13, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Access to treatment is crucial

    As behavioral health professionals, we know that mental illness and substance abuse does not discriminate against class, color, race, gender or socio-economic status, writes Behavioral Health Services North President Craig Amoth.

    August 27, 2013

  • What do parents really want?

    Earlier this month, the State Education Department released results from the first standardized tests tied to new Common Core learning standards, writes Richard C. Iannuzzi, president of the New York State United Teachers.

    August 26, 2013

Videos: Editor Picks