Press-Republican

In My Opinion

In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Gratitude for vets, growing pride

    Today is Veterans Day. Much like our own military, this holiday has almost become forgotten in years past, writes North Country Honor Flight Director Danny Kaifetz.

    November 11, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Towns back Wild Forest designation

    The five towns of Minerva, Newcomb, North Hudson, Indian Lake and Long Lake are working together to take advantage of the recent and future state acquisition of the former Finch Pruyn and other Nature Conservancy lands, writes North Hudson Supervisor Ronald Moore.

    November 6, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Concerns raised about absentee ballots

    As an elections commissioner, it is my responsibility, as it is of everyone who works at the Clinton County Board of Elections to uphold the integrity of the voting process, writes Clinton County Election Commissioner Gregory Campbell.

    November 2, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Propositions 4, 5 deserve support

    I write this to encourage everyone to vote "yes" on two very important constitutional amendments, writes former State Assemblywoman Teresa Sayward.

    October 30, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Support for state amendments

    As we approach Election Day, I am foregoing my normal letter of support for individual candidates to speak to the voters about the six constitutional amendments that will be on the ballot on Nov. 5, writes Assemblywoman Janet Duprey.

    October 24, 2013