Press-Republican

In My Opinion

December 21, 2012

In My Opinion: A trail on the right track

A little over a year ago, with Thanksgiving two days away and a snowstorm looming, workers took what was literally the last load of asphalt produced for the 2011 construction season and laid it down, linking a graceful S-curve path up a hill on the SUNY Plattsburgh campus to the swooping swerve of Steltzer Avenue.

Phase 1 of the Saranac River Trail, an idea more than three decades in the making, was finally complete.

And now, with the trail a full year into its useful life, the City of Plattsburgh can proudly call it an unqualified success.

For the past 13 months, city residents and visitors from all over Clinton County and beyond have walked, bicycled, run, rollerbladed, skateboarded, appreciated nature, played with their kids, and yes, just plain loafed along the trail’s gorgeous 1.3 miles.

SUNY students have hit the books, studied biology and taken mental-health breaks on the trail. Parents with strollers have enjoyed spring shoots and fall colors, free from worry about car traffic. And fly-fishing enthusiasts, who’ve always known where to catch the big ones along the Saranac, now often have an audience for their craft, thanks to the open river vistas the trail provides.

The trail has been celebrated both informally, by commuters like myself who’ve been able to ride a bike to work and avoid parking hassles, and formally. The local Alzheimer’s Disease Assistance Center put on two official walks on the trail, highlighting the trail’s venue for charitable events.

Last May’s official grand opening was a tour de force of community cooperation. Members of the city’s Common Council, without which the trail wouldn’t exist, were on hand to cut the ribbon, with Councilor and Mayor pro tem Jim Calnon a featured speaker. CVPH sponsored the event, highlighting the health benefits of the Saranac River Trail by bringing in nationally renowned walking guru Mark Fenton to give the keynote address. He was introduced by Mountain Lake PBS’s Thom Hallock, who donated his time to emcee.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Supreme Court ruling usurps control

    The Supreme Court recently issued a ruling that will take birth control out of the hands of North Country women who need it, writes Tess Barker, president and CEO of Planned Parenthood of the North Country New York Inc..

    July 16, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Memorial Day created to honor veterans

    As an U.S. Air Force veteran and department officer of the American Legion, I feel I must respond to a statement made June 30 in Speakout about Memorial Day, writes Clinton County Veterans Service Agency Director Steven Bowman.

    July 14, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Adirondack Health partners to aid aging population

    For years, our region and communities across the country have relied on nursing homes to care for people who may no longer be able to live on their own or may require a customized short-term rehabilitation program following surgery or a major health event, writes Adirondack Health CEO Chandler Ralph.

    June 24, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Copyrights help people be informed

    Every day, city hall reporters at local newspapers distill hours of city council meetings into cogent stories that inform readers about how their elected officials are spending their tax dollars.

    May 21, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Study of French language crucial

    In the current budget crises, proposals to reduce or eliminate French language instruction have been recommended in a number of school districts.

    May 13, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Project benefits economy, environment

    No doubt about it, Vermonters are passionate about the Green Mountain state. That's a healthy sign of an engaged citizenry, writes Vermont Gas CEO Don Gilbert.

    May 6, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Spirit Airlines addressing complaint rate

    Articles were recently published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest Department of Transportation customer complaint rate among U.S. airlines, writes Spirit CEO Ben Baldanza.

    April 22, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Integration should be future of health care

    For several years now, we have heard discussion about the effectiveness and efficiencies expected from the Affordable Care Act, writes Behavioral Health Services North CEO Craig Amoth.

    April 21, 2014

  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014