Press-Republican

In My Opinion

May 10, 2012

In My Opinion: May 10, 2012

The Beekmantown Central School Board would like to set the record straight on at least one issue: the fund-balance statements made in recent Letters to the Editor.

One year ago in this column, the School Board explained the fund balance and told Beekmantown residents that there would be no fund balance left at the end of 2012-13 to support future budgets.

It stated: "The school budget is financed in three ways: 1) Revenue from all sources like state aid (which will be reduced by over $2.4 million with the elimination GAP), Medicaid, admissions, interest, etc.; 2) tax levy; and 3) fund balance.

"One half of the fund balance or $3,574,028 of the $7,148,056 will be used to finance a part of the 2011-12 budget. The remaining $3,574,028, less 4 percent of the total budget, will be used to finance a part of the 2012-2013 budget.

"The district is allowed and will retain the 4 percent of the fund balance for operational and emergency purposes. The board felt it prudent to at least try to bridge two years during these difficult economic times — is that an elementary thinking process?

"The money (fund balance) is not gone yet, but it will be at the end of the 2012-13 budget (if all things remain as they are today) because it is being spent on the budgeted expenses," we wrote then.

People have stated that they do not understand what happened to the fund balance the district had three years ago. Superintendent of Schools Scott Amo and/or our school business executive have explained more than 12 times during the last two years of budget sessions where the fund balance is and what it has been and will be used for. This included verbal explanations, spread sheets, flyers, Power Points, etc.

This does not include the numerous times the fund balance has been explained one on one by Mr. Amo, Ms. Blaine and each and every board member. Just because a person does not understand what is presented and explained does not mean that "fiscal accountability is sorely lacking."

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013