Press-Republican

In My Opinion

March 10, 2012

In My Opinion: Town of Keene fuel use monitored

I think the recent Press-Republican article and editorial with respect to the Town of Keene's policies regarding fuel use need some clarification.

The public is led to believe because there were 18 occasions on which fuel was pumped and there was no signature, that we have no policy or oversight. That is incorrect.

Having reviewed the documentation from July 2011 through December 2011, there were 21 occasions where fuel was pumped with no signature. These, I was told, are the same months that the Press Republican reporter was shown.

The vehicles and equipment that are allowed to use the town's pumps are equipment and vehicles belonging to or doing business for the Town of Keene as well as our two fire departments.

When a vehicle gets fuel, we have a pump for which a key is required and a sheet where one is supposed to identify the department, the vehicle or equipment being filled, the date, the reading on the pump (before and after fueling) the amount and a signature. We also cross reference the amount of fuel delivered to the amount of fuel pumped on a monthly basis.

These amounts are compiled and reviewed, and the fuel used by the fire departments is then billed to them, and the town's general fund is reimbursed.

All the fuel pumped during those dates was accounted for by the equipment that was signed out. There was always documentation of the vehicle, department, amount and dates when the fuel was pumped.

The 21 occasions where a signature was missing are:

▶ July 2011, three times, all Keene Fire Department.

▶ August 2011, eight times: three by Keene Valley Fire Department, one by Keene Fire Department and four times for vehicles from Lake Placid assisting us during Hurricane Irene.

▶ September 2011, five times: one by a Lake Placid vehicle (also hurricane related, actual date Aug. 30, 2011), two by Keene Fire Department and two by Keene Valley Fire Department.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013

Videos: Editor Picks