Press-Republican

In My Opinion

December 11, 2012

In My Opinion: Elizabethtown budget questioned

On Nov. 8, the Elizabethtown Town Council held its annual public hearing for the 2013 budget. It lasted 14 minutes.

Supervisor Margaret Bartley announced to the persons in attendance that no statements regarding specific items in the budget would be allowed. Only general statements would be accepted. 

I was prepared to point out the various inaccuracies in the budget documents, but the Town Council ruled that no specific articles of the budget could be discussed. If you had specific questions, a special conference with the supervisor had to be arranged.

There are numerous errors in the budget documents that influence the eventual tax-levy percentage of increase, which is wrong and underestimated.

The budget is broken down into eight funds; the big ones are the general fund, highway fund and the Fire District fund.

As presented at the public hearing, the general fund revenue total is in error by $1,387. This error leaves the general fund out of balance. Additionally, the total tax-levy increase in dollars between 2012 and 2013 is $41,329, not $37,209, as represented by the supervisor, both of which exceed the tax cap.

The 2013 budget analysis, which is supposed to compare 2012 to 2013, is incorrectly using 2012 numbers in both columns so the result is comparing 2012 to 2012 rather than 2012 to 2013. Therefore, the percent of increase in the tax levy is incorrectly calculated.

Supervisor Bartley states the tax-levy increase is under 3.5 percent, but I calculate about 5.5 percent. This exceeds the tax cap and is contrary to the law since no vote was taken to exceed the cap.

The Town Council adopted this budget on Nov. 20, and when queried about whether any changes had been made since the public hearing, the supervisor said there were none. Yet, interestingly, the supervisor submitted a “revised” budget to Essex County on Nov. 29 with $1,537 of changes. This appears to have been the second budget submitted to the county. When did the Town Council approve the changes?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013

Videos: Editor Picks