Press-Republican

In My Opinion

December 15, 2012

In My Opinion: E'town budget confirmed by audit

In response to the opinion piece written by former Town Councilman Ken Fenimore:

On Nov. 8, the Elizabethtown Town Council held a public hearing on the 2013 preliminary budget. The public hearing allows residents express their ideas and concerns regarding the budget, and also provides valuable information to the Town Council.

Copies of the 2013 budget were available prior to the public hearing.

The preliminary budget included a written explanation of the general budget items, including the general fund, highway fund and six special-district funds. I told the audience that the town budget includes more than 300 line items and that anyone with questions about specific lines should contact me and I would be willing to go over any parts of the budget with them.

I then asked the seven members of the public if they had any comments. Several people spoke about funding concerns for the library and ambulance squad. Several people also asked general questions, which members of the Town Council answered. (A video of the public hearing can be viewed on Charter Channel 16 on Fridays at 2 a.m., 10 a.m., 4 p.m. and 7 p.m.)

Twelve days later, on Nov. 20, the Town Council approved the 2013 town budget. During that 12-day period, no one called or stopped by the Town Hall to ask about or express concerns about the budget.

On Tuesday, Nov. 27, an auditor from the New York State Comptroller’s Office conducted the required budget/tax-cap audit on the Elizabethtown 2013 budget. The state comptroller calculates the tax cap for Elizabethtown, and the Elizabethtown tax cap included a carryover from the previous year’s budget. A 6 percent drop in the tax levy, which was approved by the Town Council in November 2011, created this carryover.

The town’s 2013 budget came in under the state-mandated tax cap for Elizabethtown.

The auditor did find two errors in the previous year’s tax-cap calculation, which had been filed in October 2011 by the previous bookkeeper. These errors included a $43,021 pension deduction that should not have been taken and a $9,000 overstatement of revenue that the town never received.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013