Press-Republican

In My Opinion

February 25, 2013

In My Opinion: CCC efforts to balance budget

An ancient Chinese proverb says, “May you live in interesting times.” Whether this is a blessing or a curse depends on us.

These are interesting times. Clinton and other community colleges are more prominent than ever before. We have been asked to provide universal access to higher education, to educate citizens, to build a modern technical workforce, to support economic growth and to improve the quality of life in our regions.

Increasingly, we are expected to provide for the public good, but we face economic constraints that make it increasingly difficult for the public to provide the necessary resources.

As a result of the global economic crisis that began a few years ago, students have found that a college education is more essential than ever, yet also more expensive than ever.

Our county sponsor faces unfunded mandates of its own, along with a 2 percent property-tax cap that limits its ability to provide additional funding.

State support for New York’s community colleges has decreased by more than 25 percent in real terms and is now at the same level as a decade ago. Meanwhile, higher education salaries, wages, benefits and other operational expenses continue to rise faster than the rate of inflation.

Clinton is a financially viable institution of higher education. We continue to make progress on our 2012-2017 strategic plan, despite the economy.

Like almost every other community college in the state, we have been called upon in recent years to use some of our reserves as we absorb the precipitous drop in state aid that occurred between 2010 and 2012.

We have reduced expenses in many areas of our operation. We have cut non-personnel expenses, reduced the size of our support staff through attrition, slashed equipment costs by 35 percent, converted to more economical energy systems, developed new revenue streams and frozen salaries for our senior management.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013

Videos: Editor Picks