Press-Republican

In My Opinion

March 5, 2013

In My Opinion: Jay says sewer work wasn't being done

We, the Jay Town Council, are responding to an opinion column written by Black Brook Town Councilor Howard Aubin.

The following points are facts and can be verified by pictures, video footage, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation reports and engineering reports from A.E.S.:

1. The sewer plant, pumping stations and individual property owner’s sewer tanks were in total disarray and were not on any preventive-maintenance schedule when Black Brook was the lead agency.

2. The Town of Jay became lead agency on Jan. 1, 2012, after a legally agreed contract was signed by both towns.

3. All sewer facilities are now on a preventive-maintenance schedule, as are property owners’ individual tanks, and all information is on a computer data base kept by Jay Department of Public Works.

4. Jay taxpayers were billed by Black Brook for years for four to six hours a day for work that we alleged was not performed.

A video we have that we showed to Black Brook official Howard Aubin in September of 2011, verified by a local resident near the entrance to the plant, can verify the truth.

If the sewer plant worker worked four to six hours a day instead of what is alleged, for just minutes a day, then one would have to believe the facilities would have been in much better shape.

5. Councilman Aubin references in his letter that for six months Black Brook ordered its sewer-plant worker to do the minimum to keep the plant running. If that’s true, then the Black Brook Town Council was in violation of its fiduciary duty to ensure taxpayers were not overpaying for these services if they were not being performed.

6. For years, the Town of Jay was billed for four to six hours a day for work performed when we alleged that the sewer plant operator was actually working as a private contractor out of town and not working these hours.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013