Press-Republican

In My Opinion

February 11, 2012

In My Opinion: E'town water, sewer essential

Elizabethtown has a history of economic ups and downs.

Some people remember the restaurants and motels that once lined Route 9 before the Northway was built. Others remember the big hotels that were filled with summer tourists.

But over the years, Elizabethtown's economy has changed.

In the past decade, Elizabethtown has lost more residents (11.5 percent) than any other Essex County town. We've also lost several small businesses, and our school population has dropped 25 percent. Fewer people mean fewer shoppers, taxpayers and workers.

What can we do to re-energize Elizabethtown and bring people back to our town? We need people to buy and remodel older homes, join our churches and volunteer in our fire department. We need new businesses, a laundromat, a car wash, more shops and affordable office space.

Several people have spoken to me about constructing new buildings or upgrading old ones, but these projects are held back by our lack of a sewer system.

In 2007, Elizabethtown received a grant for $1 million to pay for the planning and design of a wastewater treatment plant. That grant will expire on Dec. 21, 2012.

To date, 75 percent of the grant has been spent preparing for a green, eco-friendly system, located behind the golf course maintenance shed. The last part of the plan is getting easements from property owners. This work must be done in the next few months in order for the project to become shovel ready.

Most of the construction costs for the sewer will to be paid for with federal and state money. This is the only way the system can be made affordable for residents. But the town can't apply for grant money unless all the plans are complete.

In March, residents, businesses and landowners who own property in the Sewer District will receive information about signing easements, so the last part of the design can be completed. Once the easements are signed, Elizabethtown will be in the front of the line for future funding.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Supreme Court ruling usurps control

    The Supreme Court recently issued a ruling that will take birth control out of the hands of North Country women who need it, writes Tess Barker, president and CEO of Planned Parenthood of the North Country New York Inc..

    July 16, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Memorial Day created to honor veterans

    As an U.S. Air Force veteran and department officer of the American Legion, I feel I must respond to a statement made June 30 in Speakout about Memorial Day, writes Clinton County Veterans Service Agency Director Steven Bowman.

    July 14, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Adirondack Health partners to aid aging population

    For years, our region and communities across the country have relied on nursing homes to care for people who may no longer be able to live on their own or may require a customized short-term rehabilitation program following surgery or a major health event, writes Adirondack Health CEO Chandler Ralph.

    June 24, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Copyrights help people be informed

    Every day, city hall reporters at local newspapers distill hours of city council meetings into cogent stories that inform readers about how their elected officials are spending their tax dollars.

    May 21, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Study of French language crucial

    In the current budget crises, proposals to reduce or eliminate French language instruction have been recommended in a number of school districts.

    May 13, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Project benefits economy, environment

    No doubt about it, Vermonters are passionate about the Green Mountain state. That's a healthy sign of an engaged citizenry, writes Vermont Gas CEO Don Gilbert.

    May 6, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Spirit Airlines addressing complaint rate

    Articles were recently published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest Department of Transportation customer complaint rate among U.S. airlines, writes Spirit CEO Ben Baldanza.

    April 22, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Integration should be future of health care

    For several years now, we have heard discussion about the effectiveness and efficiencies expected from the Affordable Care Act, writes Behavioral Health Services North CEO Craig Amoth.

    April 21, 2014

  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014