Press-Republican

In My Opinion

February 11, 2012

In My Opinion: E'town water, sewer essential

Elizabethtown has a history of economic ups and downs.

Some people remember the restaurants and motels that once lined Route 9 before the Northway was built. Others remember the big hotels that were filled with summer tourists.

But over the years, Elizabethtown's economy has changed.

In the past decade, Elizabethtown has lost more residents (11.5 percent) than any other Essex County town. We've also lost several small businesses, and our school population has dropped 25 percent. Fewer people mean fewer shoppers, taxpayers and workers.

What can we do to re-energize Elizabethtown and bring people back to our town? We need people to buy and remodel older homes, join our churches and volunteer in our fire department. We need new businesses, a laundromat, a car wash, more shops and affordable office space.

Several people have spoken to me about constructing new buildings or upgrading old ones, but these projects are held back by our lack of a sewer system.

In 2007, Elizabethtown received a grant for $1 million to pay for the planning and design of a wastewater treatment plant. That grant will expire on Dec. 21, 2012.

To date, 75 percent of the grant has been spent preparing for a green, eco-friendly system, located behind the golf course maintenance shed. The last part of the plan is getting easements from property owners. This work must be done in the next few months in order for the project to become shovel ready.

Most of the construction costs for the sewer will to be paid for with federal and state money. This is the only way the system can be made affordable for residents. But the town can't apply for grant money unless all the plans are complete.

In March, residents, businesses and landowners who own property in the Sewer District will receive information about signing easements, so the last part of the design can be completed. Once the easements are signed, Elizabethtown will be in the front of the line for future funding.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013