Press-Republican

In My Opinion

February 3, 2012

In My Opinion: Behind the city lockbox program

AFSCME Local 788 has received the opinion and award of Arbitrator Kenneth J. Toomey denying the union's grievance of the city's Financial Lockbox, by which residents' water, sewer and trash payments can be routed to a Glens Falls National Bank subcontractor in Hicksville, Long Island.

Previously, all payments were made through the City Chamberlain's Office, where they were received and processed by City of Plattsburgh employees.

While Local 788 believes that Arbitrator Toomey's decision is both wrong and at odds with three prior arbitration awards by three well-respected arbitrators, handed down over the past 35 years, the union does not intend to challenge the opinion and award in court.

The laws of the state of New York make clear that labor arbitration awards are intended to be "final and binding;" the grounds on which they can be overturned in court are very limited.

The arbitration hearing did reveal information that should be of interest to the Common Council and all city residents who pay those fees:

▶ Glens Falls Bank charges 40 cents per envelope to process each payment.

▶ Many payments — over 25 percent of the monies collected — are rejected by the bank's system for any number of reasons, many of them being no more than typographical errors. Data was foiled and analyzed from Sept. 9, 2010 to Jan. 7. 2011. Each day, city employees in the City Chamberlain's Office are then required to research the problems and make the corrections. The city is not reimbursed by Glen Falls Bank for the time spent by its employees on such work — Glens Falls National Bank is paid its fee no matter what.

▶ The overall value of the Financial Lock-Box contract to the city is highly questionable. With the Financial Lockbox contract having been in operation for more than 12 months, only 25 percent of the city's residents who pay their billings mail them in to Hicksville. What are the exact costs for this service?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014

  • In My Opinion: New care models for aging population

    Our communities are experiencing a growing percentage of older residents, who are becoming increasingly savvy when it comes to health-care decisions, according to the administrators of local nursing homes.

    December 24, 2013

  • In My Opinion: Respect diversity of gender November is Transgender Awareness Month across the United States -- a time to celebrate the diversity of gender that many Americans, and especially many New Yorkers, share.

    November 25, 2013