Press-Republican

In My Opinion

July 16, 2012

In My Opinion: Public comments always welcome

A recent letter to the editor (“Grossly Unfair” July 7, 2012 by Arthur J. Gilman) prompts us to provide some insight into the great work going on at the Northern Adirondack Central School District and some of the decision-making that helps get us there.

We also feel it is necessary to respond briefly to the false claims in Mr. Gilman’s letter.

The NAC Board of Education and superintendent often face difficult decisions related to finances, personnel and programs. Students’ best interests are foremost in our minds when making these decisions. We act to ensure their health, well-being and strong education. This can be a challenge, but it is one that board members and the superintendent willingly accept.

When examining issues, the board consults educational experts and legal counsel. As the public readily knows, we hold hearings on budget matters and always provide time for public comment at board meetings. When it comes to personnel, we want the best and always ensure staff is provided proper representation and afforded all legal rights.

The effectiveness of our decision-making is evident in our great employees, sound fiscal management and continued improvement of our educational program. All of this is possible because the board and superintendent thoughtfully, methodically work together for the best interests of our students and community.

Mr. Gilman’s letter misses all of this. He makes false comments, not based in fact. He ignores our deliberative consideration and makes statements so inaccurate they could be tantamount to libel. 

Out of respect for the legal rights of our staff and in accordance with our policies, we do not discuss individual personnel matters. The NAC community can rest assured employees are always afforded their full rights under the law: Education Law, Civil Service Law and the Constitution.

The NAC community should also know the district has not denied the legal rights of employees or any members of the public. Staff members are always permitted the right to counsel. They decide if they want one or many attorneys. When matters settle without a formal hearing, this is a joint decision by the district and the employee.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
In My Opinion
  • In My Opinion: Spirit Airlines addressing complaint rate

    Articles were recently published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest Department of Transportation customer complaint rate among U.S. airlines, writes Spirit CEO Ben Baldanza.

    April 22, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Integration should be future of health care

    For several years now, we have heard discussion about the effectiveness and efficiencies expected from the Affordable Care Act, writes Behavioral Health Services North CEO Craig Amoth.

    April 21, 2014

  • In My Opinion Follow Vt. lead on prescription drugs

    Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin recently called attention to a national crisis when he dedicated his entire State of the State message to address what he called Vermont's "full-blown heroin crisis," writes John Coppola of New York Association of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Providers Inc.

    March 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Rail companies must take action

    I write to commend emergency response officials in Essex County for taking a proactive approach to the increasing number of freight trains carrying crude oil through our communities on the Canadian Pacific line, as described in the Feb, 23 article, "Essex County developing disaster-response plans as rail traffic grows," writes Rep. Bill Owens.

    March 4, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Communal energy conservation urged

    Recently, several articles appeared in the Press-Republican about the City of Plattsburgh's electric rates and energy policies, writes SUNY Plattsburgh assistant professor Curt Gervich.

    March 3, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Support gave boost to broadcasting

    As many of you know, this is my 40th and final year of broadcasting Plattsburgh State Cardinal Hockey, writes WIRY broadcaster Ducky Drake.

    February 20, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Prison closures will increase danger

    In January, the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision released its annual report on the state of New York's prisons, writes NYSCOPBA President Donn Rowe.

    February 18, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Everyone must commit to end smoking

    Smoking-related illnesses will cause 5.6 million children alive today to die prematurely unless smoking rates drop, the latest Surgeon General's Report says, write no-smoking advocates Glenn Pareira and Kendra Gertsch.

    February 12, 2014

  • In My Opinion: The right approach to youth sports

    Another youth basketball season is upon us, writes Town of Ellenburg Youth Director Chris Brooks. Local counties do a great job of organizing these leagues for our children to be able to participate and learn skills at a young age.

    January 8, 2014

  • In My Opinion: Fair evacuation plan needs review

    A year has come and gone with another great professional job done by our Clinton County Fair management, putting on its best yet entertainment.

    January 7, 2014