June 6, 2013

Election challengers named


---- — MALONE — Some incumbent Franklin County legislators will face challengers in this fall’s election.

The full list is not complete, but the Democratic and Republican party chairs said they each have strong candidates running in November.

All seven seats on the County Legislature are up for re-election, as are the positions of district attorney, county treasurer and county clerk.


DA Derek Champagne, a Republican, and County Treasurer Bryon Varin, a Democrat, were cross-endorsed by both the Republican and Democratic party committees and are running unopposed.


Democrat Kip Cassavaw, who was recently appointed county clerk following the December 2012 retirement of Wanda Murtagh, is challenged by Republican Cindy Gale, supervisor of the Town of Moira.


Republican Party Chair Rolland Thomas said a few people who were approached to run for County Legislature are still considering it, so the GOP does not have a full slate yet.

But he is hoping to have their decisions by the beginning of next week.

Here is the list of candidates so far:

Legislature District 1: Democrat incumbent Guy “Tim” Smith of Fort Covington received his party’s nomination. Republicans may soon have a candidate to put up against him, Thomas said.

Legislature District 2: Democrat and Legislature Chairman Billy Jones of Chateaugay will run unopposed for another term.

Legislature District 3: Incumbent Democrat Gordon Crossman of Malone is being challenged by Republican Mark Besio, manager of the Malone Dufort Airport and a Town Highway Department employee.

Legislature District 4: Incumbent Republican Marc “Tim” Lashomb of Malone will face Democrat Todd LePine, the mayor of the Village of Malone, who owns an abstract business.

Legislature District 5: Incumbent Republican Sue Robideau of Brushton will face off for the second time against Don Dabiew of Bombay. The two ran against each other for the same seat in 2010.

Legislature District 6: Incumbent Republican Paul Maroun of Tupper Lake will run unopposed for re-election.

Legislature District 7: Incumbent Timothy Burpoe (D-Saranac Lake) is not seeking re-election. But Barbara Rice, a furniture-store owner from Saranac Lake, announced her candidacy last month and will likely be challenged by a yet-unnamed Republican, Thomas said.


Tuesday was the first date nominating petitions could be circulated. They must be returned to the County Board of Elections between July 8 and 11.

State Election Law requires a minimum number of signatures on a petition based on a March certification conducted by the Board of Elections.

In Legislature District 1, a Republican candidate needs signatures from at least 32 other registered Republicans, and a Democratic candidate would need 63 signatures from Democrats.

In District 2, 68 Republican signatures are required, with 75 for a Democrat.

In District 3, a Republican needs 67 signatures as opposed to 80 for a Democrat.

In District 4, 66 Republican signatures are needed, and a Democrat would need 79.

In District 5, 74 Republicans signatures are needed while a Democrat must collect 72.

In District 6, a Republican would need 80 signatures and a Democrat 60.

In District 7, 67 Republican signatures are needed, and a Democrat would need 72.

Email Denise A.