October 23, 2013

Candidates up for vote in all 18 Essex County towns


---- — ELIZABETHTOWN — There are contests for supervisor in only six Essex County towns in November’s general election.

Those are Ticonderoga, Elizabethtown, Essex, Westport, Minerva and Willsboro.

Town council races are taking place in Elizabethtown, Jay, Minerva, Moriah, Newcomb, North Hudson, Schroon, Ticonderoga, Westport and Willsboro.

The supervisor posts are not up in Chesterfield and North Hudson.

All 18 towns in Essex County have local offices on the ballot for Tuesday, Nov. 5. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Here’s the slate:


County district attorney: Kristy Sprague (R-C), incumbent.

County coroner (unexpired term): Francis Whitelaw (R), incumbent.


Town Council (one seat): Clayton Barber (R-I); Richard Klages (D-I); Brian LaFountain (D-I).


Supervisor: Charles Harrington (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Walter Worth (R); Sherlene Simpson Barrows (R).

Highway superintendent: Eugene Ingleston Jr. (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Margaret Bartley (D-I), incumbent; Noel Merrihew III (R-I).

Town clerk/tax collector: Debra Brooks (R), incumbent.

Town justice ( two seats): William Garrison (R-I), incumbent; Michael Doyle (R-I).

Town Council (two seats): Evelyn Hatch (D-I), incumbent; William Wright Jr. (R-I); Richard F. Olcott (R, I).

Highway superintendent: Michael Drew (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Sharon Boisen (I), incumbent; Edward Gardner (I).

Town Council (two seats): Bryan Garvey (R); Clair LaPine (R-I).

Highway superintendent: Bradley French (R-I).

Town clerk/tax collector: William Morgan (I).

Assessor: Dianne Lansing (R).


Supervisor: Randy Douglas (D-I), incumbent.

Town clerk: Beatrice Pelkey (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Archie Depo (D-I), incumbent; Amy Shalton (R-I), incumbent; Frederick Balzac (Green-I).

Town justice: (The following names will be on the ballot, but a recent public vote removed the justice position, so the elected person will not serve.) Rosemond Lincoln-Day (I); Rodney Dockum (I); and William Minoguie (I), incumbent.

Highway superintendent: Christopher Garrow (D-I), incumbent; William Lincoln Sr. (R-I).

Tax collector: Valerie Coolidge (R-I); Tina Fenton (I).


Supervisor: William Ferebee (R-I), incumbent.

Town clerk: Ellen Estes (R-I), incumbent.

Town justice (four years): Constance Hickey (R-I), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Robert Biesemeyer (D-I), incumbent; Paul Martin (R-I), incumbent.

Highway superintendent: Gary Manley (R-I); Ryan Hall (R-I).

Tax collector: Donna Reed Austin (R-I), incumbent.


Supervisor: David Blades (R-I), incumbent.

Town clerk: James Pierce (R), incumbent.

Town justice: Timothy Pierce (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Robert Sweatt (R); James Monty (R).

Highway superintendent: Eldred Hutchins (R), incumbent.

Tax collector: Kathleen Robertson (R); Amy Chapuk (I).


Supervisor: Sue Montgomery Corey (D-I), incumbent; Stephen McNally (I).

Town clerk: Diana Mason (D), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Douglas McCall (R-I); Peter McNally (D-I); Keith Edward Dubay (R); Robert Lee (I).

Highway superintendent: Bruce McGinn (R-I), incumbent.

Assessor: Darlene Duffy (D).

Tax collector: Effie Jane McNally (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Thomas Scozzafava (R-I), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Timothy Garrison (R-I), incumbent; Lucille Carpenter (R-I); Corey Steigleman (I).

Assessor: Paul Mazzotte (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: George Canon (R-I), incumbent.

Town clerk: Mary Pound (R-I), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Paul Hai (D); Mary Anne Dillon Bush (D-I), incumbent; Donald Bott (R-I), incumbent.

Assessor: John Thornton (D), incumbent.

Highway superintendent: Mark Yandon (I), incumbent; John Helms (D-I).

Tax collector: Karen Darrah (R-I), incumbent.


Supervisor: Robert Politi (R-I), incumbent.

Town Council: Jack Favro (R), incumbent; Derek Doty (D).

Town justice: Dean Dietrich (D-I), incumbent.

Assessor: Kimball Daby (R), incumbent.


Town Council (two seats): Robert Dobie (D-I); Marshall Gero (R-I), incumbent; John King Sr. (R-I).

Assessor: Bruce Caza (R).

Town justice: Deborah Marie Duntley (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Michael Marnell (R), incumbent.

Town justice: Cheryl Indelicato (R); William Tribou III (R); Tracy Hanchett (R); Paul Mieras (R).

Town Council (two seats): Roger Friedman (R-I), incumbent; Margaret “Meg” Wood (R-I), incumbent.

Assessor (two seats): Thomas Erikson (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Charles Whitson Jr. (R-I), incumbent.

Town clerk: Davina Thurston (D), incumbent.

Town justice: Sheridan Swinyer (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Dan Bates (R); Jennifer Fuller (R).

Highway superintendent: Roger Oliver (R), incumbent.

Tax collector: Nancy Heath (D), incumbent.


Supervisor: Debra Malaney (I), incumbent; R. William Grinnell (R-I); Steven Whitford (I).

Town Council (two seats): Fred Hunsdon Sr. (D-I); Dorcey Crammond (R); James Kolysko (R); Chattie Van Wert (I).


Supervisor: Daniel Connell (D-I), incumbent; James Carroll (R-I).

Town justice: Michael “Ike” Tyler (R).

Town Council (two seats): Russell Paquette (D-I), incumbent; Steven Viens (D-I); Gerald Goulet (I); Timothy Sherman (R-I), incumbent.


Supervisor: Edward Hatch (D-I), incumbent; Shaun Gillilland (R-I).

Town clerk: Bridget Brown (R-I); Richard Sayward (I).

Town justice: Reginald Bedell (D-I); Paula Lincoln (I); Gregg Dickerson (R); Clarence Russell (I).

Town Council (two seats): John Thompson (D-I); Nancy Huestis (I), incumbent; Charles Lustig Jr. (R-I), incumbent; Lorilee Sheehan (R-I); Lane Sayward (R-I).

Highway superintendent: Scott Moran (R-I); Travis Crowningshield (I); Dean King (I); Jason Morgan (I); Daniel Koenig Jr. (I); Byron Moran (I).


Supervisor: Randy Preston (I), incumbent.

Town justice: Timothy Kertz (I), incumbent.

Town clerk/tax collector: Linda Lawrence (I); Gerald Bruce (R-I), incumbent.

Town Council: Dawn Stevens (R-I), incumbent; Rarilee Conway (I), incumbent.

Assessor: David Wainwright (R), incumbent.

Highway superintendent: William Sufka Jr. (I), incumbent.

Email Lohr