Politics and Elections

October 10, 2011

Essex County elections include supervisor, council races

ELIZABETHTOWN — The general election in Essex County will see races for supervisor in 10 towns.

Elizabethtown, Keene, Westport, Newcomb, Crown Point, North Elba, North Hudson, Essex, Schroon and Willsboro have supervisor contests, while there are council races in Crown Point, Schroon, Elizabethtown, Jay, Keene, North Hudson, Newcomb and Willsboro.

All towns have local offices on the ballot for the Tuesday, Nov. 8, general election. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.


County clerk: Joseph Provoncha, incumbent (R, C); and Brent Vosburg (D, I).


Supervisor: Gerald Morrow (D, I), incumbent.

Town clerk: Lynn Jarvis (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Russell Blaise (R), incumbent; and Joseph Kusalonis (D, I), incumbent.

Highway superintendent: Philip Pray (R, I), incumbent.

Tax collector: Bruce Bourgeois Jr. (D, I), incumbent.


Supervisor: Bethany Kosmider (D, I), incumbent; and Charles Harrington (R, I).

Town clerk/tax collector: Linda Woods (R, I), incumbent; and Judy Mildon (D, I).

Town justice: Arthur Miclette (R, I), incumbent; and Marjorie Hurlburt (I).

Town Council (two seats): Charlie Mazurowksi (R, I), incumbent; Yvonne Dushane (I), incumbent; Sherlene Simpson Barrows (I); and Tara Peters (R, I).

Highway superintendent: Eugene Ingleston (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Noel Merrihew III (R, I), incumbent; and Margaret Bartley (D, I).

Town Council (two seats): Ben Morris (R, I); James Phillips (D, I); Michael Doyle (R, I); and Evelyn Hatch (D, I).

Highway superintendent: Michael Drew (R, I).


Supervisor: Sharon Boisen (I), incumbent; and Frank Walls (R, I).

Town clerk: Catherine DeWolff (R), incumbent.

Town justice (four years): Stephen Sayward Jr. (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Mark Wrisley (R), incumbent; and Harold MacDougal (D), incumbent.

Assessor (two seats): Grace Drummond (R), incumbent; David Sayre (R), incumbent; and Patricia Gardner (I).

Highway superintendent: James Morgan Jr. (R, I), incumbent; and David Murcray Jr. (D, I).

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Politics and Elections
CVPH Job Opportunities
Videos: Campaign 2012
Man Has No Regrets Over Romney Face Tattoo Most Voters Support Eliminating the Electoral College Work starts on inauguration stage for Obama's 2nd term Mitt Romney's President-elect website unveiled by accident The Game Pays For New Yorkers To Vote Republicans were simply 'wrong': Gingrich Best Memes for Election Day 2012 Dow Falls More Than 300 Points After Election Best-Worst Celebrity Tweets During Election 2012 Same-sex marriage measure leads in vote count Obama victory leads to celebration in the streets Obama: "We Are One American Family" Romney: "I ran for office because I'm concerned about America" Romney: "We can't risk partisan bickering" Romney HQ Reacts To Obama Win Paul Ryan Re-elected as Representative In Wisconsin Obama HQ Goes Wild During Iowa Returns