Politics and Elections

March 19, 2013

Villagers vote today

There is just one contested race in village elections today: for two Lake Placid trustee seats.

Voters also go to the polls in the villages of Rouses Point, Dannemora and Lake Placid. And residents of the Village of Champlain will decide whether to start the dissolution process that would end their municipal government.

The polls are open from noon to 9 p.m.

Here is a rundown of the candidates running and the polling places:


Trustee (two two-year terms): Arvil “Junior” Moore; Joe Treadwell.

Village justice (four-year term): Michael Phillips.

Vote at Rouses Point Recreation Center’s Halstead Hall, 39 Lake St., Rouses Point.


Mayor (two-year term): Greg Martin.

Trustee (two two-year terms): Kim Trombley; Janet McFetridge.

Vote at the Champlain Village Office on 1104 Route 9/Main St.


Trustee (two four-year terms): Richard Scholl; Eric Jarvis.

Justice (four-year term): Daniel Lucia.

Vote at the Village Office, 40 Emmons St.


Mayor: Craig Randall.

Village justice: Bill Hushoff.

Trustee (two four-year seats): Art Devlin, David Jones and Scott Monroe. The two candidates with the most votes will win the positions.

Vote at the Harrietstown Town Hall, 30 Main St. in Lake Placid.


Mayor: Ernest Guerin.

Trustee (two seats): Staley Rich, Matthew Brassard.

Vote at the Port Henry Fire Station on Church Street.


Trustee (one seat): Patsy Rousell.

Polls are at the Town Hall.


Mayor: Jason LaPlante.

Trustee (two seats): Francis Boadway, Charles Cheyne.

Vote at the Village Offices.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Politics and Elections
CVPH Job Opportunities
Videos: Campaign 2012
Man Has No Regrets Over Romney Face Tattoo Most Voters Support Eliminating the Electoral College Work starts on inauguration stage for Obama's 2nd term Mitt Romney's President-elect website unveiled by accident The Game Pays For New Yorkers To Vote Republicans were simply 'wrong': Gingrich Best Memes for Election Day 2012 Dow Falls More Than 300 Points After Election Best-Worst Celebrity Tweets During Election 2012 Same-sex marriage measure leads in vote count Obama victory leads to celebration in the streets Obama: "We Are One American Family" Romney: "I ran for office because I'm concerned about America" Romney: "We can't risk partisan bickering" Romney HQ Reacts To Obama Win Paul Ryan Re-elected as Representative In Wisconsin Obama HQ Goes Wild During Iowa Returns