Press-Republican

Briefs

August 6, 2013

Health Notes: Aug. 6, 2013

Blood drives hosted around region

PLATTSBURGH — The North Country Regional Blood Center is partnering with many businesses and organizations to hold numerous blood drives this month.

Here is the schedule: 4 to 7 p.m. today, Brushton-Moira American Legion Post 939; 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 8, Clinton County Department of Social Services; 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Friday, Aug. 9, Clinton County Government Center; 1 to 4 p.m. Monday, Aug. 12, U.S. Border Patrol, Malone; 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 13, St. Lawrence County Human Services Center in Canton; 10 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 15, Essex County Department of Social Services; and 4 to 8 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 15, Cumberland 12 Cinemas, Plattsburgh; 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Friday, Aug. 16, Clinton County Advocacy and Resource Center, New York Road; 2 to 6 p.m. Friday, Aug. 16, Bill McBride Subaru; 4 to 8 p.m. Monday, Aug. 19, West Chazy Fire Department; 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 20, Sam’s Club, Consumer Square; 3:30 to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 20, Mooers Fire Department; 3 to 7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 22, Ausable Forks Ambulance Service; 10 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Friday, Aug. 23, Alice Hyde Medical Center; 4 to 8 p.m. Monday, Aug. 26, Essex Fire Department; 3 to 6 p.m. Monday, Aug. 26, Keene Valley Neighborhood House; 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 28, Franklin County Sheriff’s Department; 4 to 7 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 28, Chateaugay Fire Department; 1 to 3 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 29, NuMed, Hopkinton, N.Y.; and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Friday, Aug. 30, CVPH Medical Center Laboratory Conference Room.

For more information about sponsoring a drive or becoming a blood donor, call 562-7406 or go to www.cvph.org. To learn more about the bone marrow registry, go to www.BetheMatch.org or email marrow@ribc.org.

+++++

Appeals court: School can’t ban ‘boobies’ bracelets

PHILADELPHIA (AP) — A federal appeals court ruled Monday that a Pennsylvania school district cannot ban “I (heart) Boobies!” bracelets, rejecting the district’s claim that the slogan — designed to promote breast cancer awareness among young people — is lewd.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Briefs