---- — Boaters reminded to wear flotation vests
Lake Champlain anglers and boaters are reminded that New York state boating laws require all persons aboard motorboats, canoes, kayaks, rowboats and sailboats less than 21 feet in length to wear a personal flotation device (PFD) while on New York waters from Nov. 1 to May 1.
New York implemented this PFD law in fall 2009 after a spate of deaths involving people who were not wearing life jackets while boating during spring and fall cold water temperatures.
Sudden immersion in cold water after falling overboard or capsizing, particularly at water temperatures below 68 degrees, can overcome even the strongest swimmers. It may lead to sudden cardiac arrest or gasping and inhalation of water, the loss of swimming ability and grip strength, and eventually hypothermia and unconsciousness.
Outbackriders to meet at fairgrounds
MORRISONVILLE — The Outbackriders ATV Club will hold its monthly meeting at 7 p.m. Nov. 11 at the Clinton County Fairgrounds.
The meeting will be in the Conservation Building.
All are welcome.
Vt. Youth Deer Hunt next weekend
Vermont’s youth deer hunting weekend is scheduled for Nov. 9 and 10, the Saturday and Sunday before the rifle deer season opens.
Anyone, resident or nonresident, who is 15 years old or younger on the weekend of the hunt and who has successfully completed a hunter education course may purchase a hunting license and obtain a free youth deer hunting tag. The requirements apply to all interested young hunters, including the children of landowners.
The young hunter must be accompanied by an unarmed adult over 18 years of age who holds a Vermont hunting license. The adult may accompany up to two young hunters.
Landowner permission is required in order to hunt on private land during the youth deer hunt weekend.