November 8, 2013

Newsmakers: Nov. 6, 2013


---- — Nancy Scanlan has been presented with the Clinton Community College Distinguished Alumni Award. A member of the Class of 1980, she began her career in community mental health after receiving her BA in psychology from SUNY Plattsburgh and a master’s in nursing from Pace University. She worked as a nurse administrator at the Capital District Psychiatric Center and New York Hospital Cornell. She returned to the North County and Clinton Community College in 1985 and accepted the position of college nurse and adjunct instructor in the Nursing Program, where she taught for 20 years. She is nationally certified as a clinical nurse specialist and as a psychiatric nurse practitioner through the American Nurses Credentials Center. She is beginning her seventh year as an associate professor at SUNY Plattsburgh, is a nurse practitioner at Behavorial Health Services North and continues to work as a per diem nurse at CVPH Medical Center.

Stephens Mundy, president and CEO of CVPH Medical Center, Plattsburgh, will serve on the 2014 Board of Trustees for the Healthcare Association of New York State, the only statewide hospital and continuing care association in the state. The association represents 500 non-profit and public hospitals, nursing homes, home care agencies and other health care organizations. He is currently treasurer of the organization and will continue in his role as an officer, serving as its secretary.

Betty Rettig of Ticonderoga has been named Volunteer of the Year at Fort Ticonderoga. She earned the honor by volunteering nearly 300 hours since 2009 in the horticulture department.

Randy Douglas, chairman of the Essex County Board of Supervisors, has been honored by the New York State Association of Counties for graduating from its Dennis A. Pelletier County Government Institute. The institute is an educational program established by NYSAC in conjunction with Cornell University. Douglas is serving in his fourth year as chairman of the Essex County Board of Supervisors and his 10th year as Jay town supervisor. He serves as second vice president of NYSAC Board of Directors, is an Executive Board member of the New York Adirondack Association of Towns and is a Community Advisory Board member of the Adirondack/Federal Corrections Institute.

Adirondack Wild, a nonprofit devoted to wilderness and wild nature, presented its Wild Stewardship Award to Champlain Area Trails of Westport. Accepting the award for the organization was Executive Director Chris Maron and Board Chair Katharine Preston. Also to receive a stewardship award was John Davis of Essex, former conservation director of the Adirondack Council, former editor of Wild Earth, staff of the Foundation for Deep Ecology and land manager with the Eddy Foundation. Gary Randorf, former ecologist with the New York State Adirondack Park Agency, was presented with the Paul Schaefer Wilderness Award. He is also known for his work as executive director of the Adirondack Council, is a renowned wildland photographer, advocate and educator in a career spanning 40 years.

The Essex County Industrial Development Agency has announced the appointment of Matthew Courtright to their Board of Directors. He is executive director of the Ticonderoga Area Chamber of Commerce and has extensive experience in public relations, marketing, community development and outreach and tourism. 

Adirondack Life magazine won 10 awards at the International Regional Magazine Association conference. Editor Annie Stoltie earned gold in the Column category, Bill Killon won silver in the Single Photograph category, art director Kelly Hofschneider received silver honors in overall art direction and silver for art direction of a single feature, “Michigans.” The feature about michigans also won silver in the food category with senior editor Niki Kourofsky as writer. David Sommerstein took silver in the Culture Features and Mark Hobson received an award of merit in the Photographic Series category for his feature on AuSable Forks. Mark Wilson won an award of merit in the Single Illustration category. “Our Towns” won an award of merit in the department category., re-launched in March, was given an award of merit in the Companion Website category.

Assistant Professor of Journalism and Public Relations Colleen Lemza was awarded the Faculty Staff Impact Award by the SUNY Plattsburgh Alumni Association at Homecoming Weekend. Also recognized was Gerald Yu Liang Tan, a journalism alumnus, with the Off to a Good Start Award for his significant career achievements within the first 10 years of graduation. Tan is a reporter and producer with Al Jazeera English and lives in Doha, Qatar.

Laurie Wood and family of Saranac were awarded the Grand Champion Ayrshire Award at the Eastern National All American Dairy Cattle Show in Harrisburg, Pa. Their cow, Melody Lane Burdette Sally, was also Grand and Supreme champion in Syracuse. She was bred by Rita Marlow of Burke.

Dr. Jacqueline Carpenter, Ph.D., a native of Moriah, has joined the Shaker Consulting Group in Cleveland, Ohio. Her core product offering, “Virtual Job Tryout,” guides candidates through a series of customized exercises that mirror key job demands.