Local News

May 14, 2013

Students: May 1, 2013

Carson R. Hynes, son of Terri Hynes of Morrisonville and the late Michael R. Hynes, has been named to the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute School of Engineering Dean’s List for the fall semester. He is majoring in computer and systems engineering and is a 2012 graduate of Seton Catholic Central School.

Xenia Matthews, daughter of Crystal Price of Plattsburgh, has been awarded the honor to perform with the Sounds of America Honor Chorus this summer. She has yet to complete her freshman year of high school but has already participated in Area All-State and is currently a member of Select Vocal Ensemble at Plattsburgh High School.

She will join the group of highly talented students to tour Europe in June, chosen by Sound of America Honor Chorus to represent the United States with upstanding character and outstanding performance, showing exceptional musical ability and personal maturity.

Mathews is scheduled to perform nine concerts with the group on a 23-day tour, visiting some of Europe’s finest concert halls and major cathedrals in countries such as Germany, Italy and France.

The following students received academic honors from Binghamton University and were named to the Dean’s List: Kristy M. Farmer of Saranac Lake, Ruby B. Hoffman of Plattsburgh, Donald C. Frauenhofer of Chateaugay, Maxine B. Rock of Saranac,Eric M. Phillips of Plattsburgh, Laura H. Gregory of Morrisonville, Rian E. Jock of Altona and David P. Latulipe of Plattsburgh.

Clinton Community College formally welcomed 40 new members into the Alpha Pi Tau Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the Two-Year College on in the theater of the CCC Ronald B. Stafford Center for the Arts, Science and Technology. Students who achieve a 3.5 cumulative GPA after completing 12 credits at CCC are invited to join. The local chapter provides opportunities for student leadership, fellowship, scholarship and participation in campus and community-service projects. Alan Tetreault, world-renowned chef and founder of Global Sugar Art, delivered a keynote speech where he encouraged inductees to use their formal educational training and personal experience to achieve success in their lives. The inductees are: Heath Andre, Katie Blair, Margaret Bolster, Chelsey Bond, Andrew Bourgeois, Mae Ellen Brothers, Thomas Corrow, Danielle Coulon, Matthew Coupal, Laurie Cross, Michael Danis, Alex Davison, Alisha Ducatte, Kyle Edele, Daniel Escobar, Yusuf Faraj, Heather Hayes, Kristena Hebert, Tamie Herring, Andrea Hoffman, Hannah Jones, Taylor Lacey, Zachery LaForest, Eliska Lashway, Adam LaValley, Kristopher Lavigne, Philip Modelle, Nathan Noelting, Jessica Portmess, Sianna Ryan, Emily Schultz, Olivia Seymour, Keyonna Stickle, Amanda Terpstra, Katie Thibault, Brady Thomas, Amanda Tromblee, Nicole Turcotte, Joelyn VanEss and Vihan Wickramasinghe.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News

North Country Scenes

Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos