April 30, 2013

Students: April 30, 2013


---- — Zaidee H. Laughlin of Plattsburgh, daughter of Trevor and Zaidee Laughlin, earned high honors for the winter tern at Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, N.H., where she is in grade 9.

Kaylan Short, daughter of Scott and Julie Short of Champlain, has received the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence at North Country Community College, Saranac Lake. She is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society and served as the secretary for NCCC’s Student Government Association. Kaylan also was captain of the women’s cross-country team and was recognized as the NCCC Athlete of the Year in 2012. She received the Academic National Junior College Athletic All American Award.

Ryan J. Ormsby of Peru, son of Stephanie and Michael Ormsby, has been named to the Dean’s List at Tompkins Cortland Community College, Dryden.

Hillary Miller, daughter of George and Sandra Miller of Plattsburgh, has been awarded a St. Michael’s College Vice President for Academic Affairs Research Fellowship to support research during this summer. Miller, a junior biology major, graduated from Plattsburgh High School before attending St. Michael’s, located in Burlington, Vt. Her successful grant application, “A Study of Tool Use by the Ant Species Aphaenogaster Rudisin the Sandplain Forest of Vermont,” will be advised by professor Valerie Banschbach. Miller will receive a stipend of $3,700 to support the summer research.

Devin Willis of Chateaugay has been named one of the first five winners of the Buick Achievers Scholarship Program, with a scholarship award of $25,000 for up to four years in recognition of his classroom and community excellence. In addition to the scholarship, Willis was featured along with his fellow recipients in the Buick Human Highlight Reel, a campaign that highlights inspirational stories of former student athletes and future leaders and innovators that aired on CBS television during the NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four Games.

Lauren H. Gregory of Morrisonville and Rian E. Jock of Altona have been inducted into the Phi Kappa Phi selective honor society at Binghamton University.

Kelsey E. Manchester of Brushton, a physical-therapist assistant major at Herkimer County Community College, has received the 2012-2013 Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges Award.

Area residents named to the Dean’s List at Syracuse University are Stephanie Luisa Towne of Ticonderoga, Caitlin Houle of Plattsburgh, Tara Lynn Nason of Plattsburgh, Nicholas Dora of Bloomingdale, Aspen Debyah of Constable, Beatrice Schachenmayr of Lake Placid, Justine Rabideau of Mooers Forks,Andrew Petro of Morrisonville, Joshua S. Lynn of Peru, Carleigh Roush of Rouses Point, Logan Miller of Rouses Point, ElizaLennon of Saranac Lake and Summer Schneider of Saranac Lake.

Kalee Marie Smith, daughter of Mark and Wendy Smith of Morrisonville, has been named to the Dean’s List at LeMoyne College, Syracuse. She is a member of the Class of 2015, a graduate of Saranac Central School and is majoring in psychology.

Peter B. Betrus of Plattsburgh, son of Steven Betrus and Colleen Brogowski-Betrus, was named to the Dean’s List at Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva. He is a freshman at Hobart majoring in bio-chemistry. Also, Alexandra M. Betrus, their daughter, earned academic honors for the fall term and academic high honors for the winter term 2012-13 at Phillips Exeter Academy in Exeter, N.H. She is an 11th-grade student.

Four area residents have been named to the Dean’s List at Savannah College of Art and Design (Georgia) for the fall quarter: Collin Banko of Plattsburgh, Sarana Foster of Rouses Point, Kaycee Jarrard of Cadyville and Paige Timmons of Champlain.

North Country Community College has named area students to the President’s List and the Vice President’s List. Named to President’s List distinction are Michael J. Abrams of Altona, Kaylan J. Short of Champlain, Kelly LKezar of Morrisonville, David P. Bowman and Albert B. Olivera, both of Plattsburgh. Vice President’s List honors have been presented to David C. Macey of Saranac.

Four SUNY Plattsburgh students are recipients of the 2013 Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence: Rory Carroll of Plattsburgh, Michelle Haynes of Keeseville, Mackenzie Kilkeary of Plattsburgh and Timothy Maggio of Palmyra. Carrol will graduate with a degree in biology. He held an internship in forest ecology at the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center in Edgewater, Md., is the founding president of the SUNY Plattsburgh Wildlife Club, which is dedicated to research and inquiry-based learning in wildlife biology and ecology and has had a research paper published in a peer-reviewed undergraduate research journal. Haynes, the 2012 winter commencement student speaker, graduated with majors in art history, English literature and anthropology. She has extensive volunteer experience with organizations in Israel. Including work at an archaeological site that led to her senior thesis in art history. She presented that thesis at the national conference of the Paleopathology Association. Kilkeary graduated in December 2012 with a degree in biology and participated in a DNA research project on Maya skeletons that led to presentations at both the national conference for the National Association of Biology Teachers and the Northeast Sigma Xi Research Symposium. In addition, he co-created the Mitchell Kilkeary Scholarship Fund, awarded yearly to two students at Plattsburgh High School in memory of his late younger brother. He helped start an annual golf tournament that raised more than $10,000 last year for the scholarship. He co-founded the college’s ukulele club, the Uke-A-Dooks, and teaches students how to play. The group plays at local charitable events. Maggio will graduate in May with a degree in public relations. He served as the firm director for Cardinal Public Relations, a student-run public-relations firm within the public-relations major, and president of the SUNY Plattsburgh Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society. He is serving as an intern in the Office of Public Relations and Publications this summer.

The following area students have been named to the Dean’s List at Rochester Institute of Technology for the winter 2013 quarter: Robert Gregory of Jay, James Marcil of Cadyville, Colden Cullen of Newcomb, Jesse Charland of Peru, Keegan Parrotte of Peru, Elliott Munger of Plattsburgh, Patrick Mischler of Morrisonville, Brittney LaVoie of Ticonderoga, Brandon Russell of Ticonderoga, Victoria Streker of Rouses Point,  Michaela Jebb of Ticonderoga, Adam Jennett of West Chazy, Lauren Brockbank of Morrisonville,Scott Pedu of Lake Placid, Nicholas Perrotte of Morrisonville andKelly Dunn of Ticonderoga.

Soleil Marie Bacque, a student at Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine, is a candidate for the degree of doctor of Veterinary Medicine at commencement exercises to be held on June 10 at the Lincoln Center, New York City. She is the daughter of Jack and Elizabeth Bacque of Loon Lake and a 2005 graduate of Seton Catholic High School. She earned a BA in biology in 2009 from St. Anslems College in Manchester, N.H. She studied veterinary medicine at the St. Kitts campus of Ross University and concluded her education with a year of clinical studies and practice at North Carolina State University in Raleigh. She completed an externship at The Humane Alliance in Ashville, N.C., which concentrates on the spay and neutering of animals. Bacque also worked with Dr. Alison Flanagan at Lake Placid Veterinary Hospital and with Dr. Hannah McCormick of the Saranac Veterinary Clinic. She was awarded her New York state veterinary license and admission to the American Medical Veterinary Association. She has accepted a position as a veterinarian working with small animals at Crossroads Veterinary Clinic, Cortland.