July 19, 2013

Students: July 19, 2013


---- — Kamen Carson of Alburg, Vt., a graduate of Northeastern Clinton Central School in Champlain, received the  Neil Thomas Guay Law Enforcement Scholarship of $1,000. He will attend Castleton State College in Castleton, Vt. Neil Thomas Guay graduated from NCCS in 1988 and served as a military policeman in the U.S. Marine Corps, deputy sheriff, sergeant detective, volunteer firefighter chief and was an expert firearms instructor. He also served the Department of Homeland Security as a U.S. federal air marshal and was a member of the FBI counterterrorism task force. He was the son of Robert and Virginia Guay of Rouses Point.

Local students named to the Dean’s List at Hudson Valley Community College include Samantha Ashline of Keeseville, business administration; Dustin Tesar of Moriah, overhead lineworker; Phillips Belzer of Port Henry, mortuary science; and Meghan King of Port Henry, criminal justice.

Michele Elizabeth Aubin of Peru, graduated from Utica College with a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing.

Keane McCullum of Plattsburgh has been named to the Dean’s List at Messiah College, Grantham, Pa. McCullum is a biochemistry major.

Jonathan Maddix of Plattsburgh received a master’s degree in business administration from Marist College, Poughkeepsie. Laura Warden of Saranac Lake received a Master’s of Arts degree in educational psychology from Marist College.

Kendrick Buchala of Plattsburgh, an aerospace engineering major, was among the students from Florida Institute of Technology in Melbourne named to the Dean’s List for the spring semester.

Area students named to the President’s List at Hudson Valley Community College include Andrew Tedford of Bloomingdale, electrical construction/maintenance; Zachary Desimone of Moriah, overhead lineworker; Kerry Todd of Morrisonville, individual studies; Glenn Miller of Peru, mortuary science; James Rock of Peru, liberal arts/science; Sean Dermody of Plattsburgh, computer information systems; Carter Frechette of Plattsburgh, criminal justice; and Brittany Holt of Ticonderoga, biological sciences.

Several area students have been recognized for accomplishments at Nazareth College in Rochester. Glynis Jones of Rainbow Lake and Alex McFaddin of Lake Placid have been recognized for demonstrating a commitment to service, either to the college community or greater community at large. Tyler Chatelle of West Chazy and Leanne LaMondie of Constable both received bachelor’s degrees at Nazareth College. Area residents named to the Dean’s List at the ollege are Brittany Friedrich of Keeseville, senior, art education/psychology; Alexandra McFaddin of Lake Placid, senior mathematics/inclusive education; Andrea Nye of Saranac Lake, junior occupational science; and Marnie Reynolds of Plattsburgh, senior communication science/disorders.

Molly Devin Bowen and Jacqueline Elise Bowen, daughters of Patrick and Michele Bowen of Morrisonville, each received baccalaureate degrees in anthropology from the State University of New York at Geneseo. They completed the four-year program in three years, and both graduated magna cum laude.

The following local residents have been inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines: Lauren Gonyea, Lilyana Cooper, Brian Drollette, Evan Howley and Diane Dame, all of Plattsburgh; and Holly Farrell of Cadyville.

St. Lawrence University in Canton has awarded various degrees to local students. They include Aimee M. Caligiore of Lake Placid, performance and communication arts; Jesse W. Clark of Ticonderoga, history; David J. Cook of Ticonderoga, multi-language; Korey M. Devins of Peru, biology; Joanna M. Pray of Keeseville, biology; Christopher R. Shrope of Rainbow Lake, environmental studies/economics; and Maclay G. Stratford of Bloomingdale, performance and communication arts.

The following students from Wells College, located in Aurora, were named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2013 semester: Taylor Fehr, class of 2014, of West Chazy, who is majoring in English with a concentration in creative writing and is a graduate of Beekmantown High School; and Clare Harwood, class of 2016, of Elizabethtown, who is a graduate of Elizabethtown-Lewis Central School. To make the Dean’s List, students must earn at least a 3.5 grade point average for at least 12 hours of coursework in a given semester.

Andrew Pierson from Saranac Lake has completed the spring semester at Mohawk Valley Community College, located in Utica and Rome, with academic excellence and has qualified for the Vice President’s List. Pierson earned a degree/certificate in Mech Tech-Aircraft Maintenance. The Vice President’s List recognizes students who achieve a grade-point average between 3.50 and 3.74 and have successfully completed 12 or more course hours.

Monaghan Medical Corporation, on behalf of the Bill Shene Memorial Scholarship, has chosen the following Beekmantown Central High School students as recipients for this year’s scholarships: Malie Sapp has been selected as the recipient of the $2,500 scholarship to continue education in the field of neuroscience; Danielle Schwartz has been selected as the recipient of the $1,000 scholarship to continue education in the field of bio-med sciences. Bill Shene was instrumental in the company’s success as a local business of 30-plus years; he was an inventor, entrepreneur and businessman in the fields of science and health care. He taught high-school physics at local high schools.

Laura Merrill of Plattsburgh, a sophomore majoring in chemical engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Massachusetts, has been named to the Dean’s List. She is the daughter of Bill and Karen Merrill of Plattsburgh.

Three area students received awards from Clarkson University at Recognition Day ceremonies: Louis Racette of Saranac, a senior majoring in psychology and computer engineering, was awarded the Psychology Research Award, given to the senior psychology student who has demonstrated excellence in academic studies and research endeavors while at Clarkson. Racette also received the John B. Russell Memorial Award, in memory of Dr. John B. Russell, dean of the School of Engineering (1965-68) and professor of electrical and computer engineering (1965-1972). The award, established in 1975, is presented to the student judged to be most capable in applying analytical methods in engineering design. Evan Tomkiewicz of Brushton, a senior majoring in biology and mathematics, was presented with the Department of Biology Undergraduate Teaching Award. Shauni Trombly of West Chazy, a senior majoring in psychology, received the Diversity Initiatives Award, given to students in recognition of their commitment to diversity awareness and demonstrated by outstanding leadership and academic achievement.

John J. Petro of Mineville was named to the Dean’s List at Alfred University. He is a senior in the College Liberal Arts and Sciences. Students must earn at least a 3.5 GPA to qualify for the honor.

Zak Breckenridge of Essex graduated summa cum laude from Bard College at Simon’s Rock, Great Barrington, Mass., with a Bachelor of Arts degree in creative writing and contemporary critical theory.  He attended Lake Champlain Waldorf High School before leaving after 10th grade to enter college early.

Sean M. Davis, son of Michael and Laurie Davis of Willsboro, graduated with a degree in economics from Hamilton College in Clinton.  Daniel J. Schanck, son of Margaret Rathbun of Peru and John Schanck of Raleigh, was awarded a degree in psychology from Hamilton College.